+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help needed!

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    39

    Default Help needed!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone! i need help of more experienced than myself inventor users..
    How can I add material inbetween the drawing contour and surface of highlighted facets?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/im5o6mb2fc...oblem.png?dl=0
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/aba5cccr6o...opfig.ipt?dl=0


    I've been trying to do this for two days now to no avail
    Please please help!
    Thank you!!!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    assuming the edges are coincident to the edge you are trying to add to you have a few options. Delete the faces and then just patch up to that edge. It kind of depends on what you want it to look like. I opened the file and its not immediately apparent what you are trying to do. Are you trying to blend to that curve into an edge, extrude it up or what?

    Look at these images. is this what you want? Loft help.jpg

    Loft help2.jpg

    Because of some geometry problems it won't let you apply tangency with the upper edge but i used the LOFT tool to do this. Your sketch was one section, the upper edge of the solid that i went to was the second section. I simply grabbed 7 or 8 edges on the solid. I then added 2 rails going from your sketch up to the second section. If this is what you are trying to do i can explain it a little better.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    39

    Default

    shift1313, thank you, that's exactly what I need!
    Initially, I tried applying LOFT, but it didn't work for some reason.. I can't highlight all the facets at once, and an error occurs when I highlight them one by one (see the pic).
    Please please explain how you did that!
    Thanks again!!!
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    I sent you a PM last night with a video link.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    shift1313, replied in PM.
    Thanks a million!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Just What I Needed
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2014, 09:40 pm
  2. Help Needed
    By dsibbo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th May 2014, 05:00 pm
  3. Help Needed
    By jlythgoe in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2012, 09:03 pm
  4. help needed C3D
    By matt sad in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2011, 12:29 pm
  5. Help needed
    By ChrisN in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2007, 05:35 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts