+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    stephen80's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Computer:
    dell t3610
    Monitor:
    Lg 19", & Benq 21"
    Discipline
    Transport
    stephen80's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    drafter, traffic control
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Mechanical design sheet metal layout and detail brackets, subpanels, mounting adapters. Assembly drawings layout and detail drawing, b.o.m generation. Generates parts library, drawings contain attributes with part number and description, also working on advancing all drawings to be dynamic blocks.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    n.e. ohio
    Posts
    9

    Default autocad workstation peripherals

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    while browsing the interwebs the other day i came across a few pages talking about using gaming keyboards and mice in conjunction with autocad. so i did a little bit of reading/research (things are slow at work) and found out it wasn't to difficult to do, and a new mouse was like $80. i thought why not give it a try. i took to amazon to get the logitech G600 for $49 w/prime shipping, i received it monday and tuesday i was off and running. the most difficult thing about it was choosing what commands to program on the thumb keys. it has the normal two mouse buttons and scroll wheel up, down, left and right, with third mouse button as a "shift key" for the 12 thumb buttons to make 24 individual keys, plus two other buttons with the scroll wheel that i believe select between profiles you can set. (haven't dove completely into it) after working with it for the better part of tuesday, this morning wednesday i reconfigured some commands on the thumb pad and printed out a cheat sheet to memorize. some of the commands like copy/past/cut work outside of Autocad which is a plus.
    it has helped in some areas of accuracy typing commands like move between 2 points (i mistype a lot) but slowed other processes down just because its new and still getting to the nuances of operation. i believe it will become second nature as long as i don't change the commands often as i feel which ones fit best or needed more.
    anyways i thought i would just throw this out there maybe it's something you would like to try or have some experience with or didn't know you could use. let me know if there is something else out there you have tried to work with.


    links:
    http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2015/05...eal-work-done/

    http://blog.grabcad.com/blog/2010/08...all-3d-device/

    https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-G600...=logitehc+g600

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    Good post with good info. I tried one of those Belkin n52te (early version). I just could not "un-learn" all my normal keyboard movements and actions. Others might have better luck with them. I did not even get used to it with FPS gaming (the reason I bought it).
    To add to this, I think a good gaming rig can be a good CAD station as well (depending on what CAD application you are using of course).
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    stephen80's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Computer:
    dell t3610
    Monitor:
    Lg 19", & Benq 21"
    Discipline
    Transport
    stephen80's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    drafter, traffic control
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Mechanical design sheet metal layout and detail brackets, subpanels, mounting adapters. Assembly drawings layout and detail drawing, b.o.m generation. Generates parts library, drawings contain attributes with part number and description, also working on advancing all drawings to be dynamic blocks.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    n.e. ohio
    Posts
    9

    Default

    i'm in the same boat about "un-learning" my physical movements that have become second nature. most of the inputs are second nature i catch myself in the process. i may revise my thumb keys again and use them for mostly the "right" click menu. i have been using "qselect" and "select similar" a lot (which are programed now) it helps a lot with that and purge.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    I did use a multi-button mouse several years ago that was not too hard to learn. Just remember that I learned CAD on a puck in DOS (hella old, 46)
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    stephen80's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Computer:
    dell t3610
    Monitor:
    Lg 19", & Benq 21"
    Discipline
    Transport
    stephen80's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    drafter, traffic control
    Discipline
    Transport
    Details
    Mechanical design sheet metal layout and detail brackets, subpanels, mounting adapters. Assembly drawings layout and detail drawing, b.o.m generation. Generates parts library, drawings contain attributes with part number and description, also working on advancing all drawings to be dynamic blocks.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    n.e. ohio
    Posts
    9

    Default

    well im 32 and about 13ish years into my autocad career, i used to work with autocad electrical and had some very intelligent and talented guys helping me learn, and now i am doing basic stuff in LT and i needed something to re-invigorate my autocad passion. so that explains the gaming mouse and why i redraw just about every part my company uses for assembly purposes as a dynamic block with attributes. which the previous drafter before me and the guy responsible for me had no clue what the capabilities an Autocad program can do.....

  6. #6
    Senior Member zaphod's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I've been using my stuff so long, I have trouble at other workstations.


    I also have a "Stinky" gaming foot board.
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    I bought my son a Razer mouse last year. He has the sensitivity turned up so high that you can blow a mouse-click on it. I am too stupid to use it
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,797

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It's still hard to beat standard and custom keyboard shortcuts, I also find that my thumb button programmed as ENTER speeds things up as well. Just too hard for me to get used to too many buttons, I had a mouse a good while back with several buttons programmed, but I came here and the standard mouse they gave me just has Left, Right, Middle is a Toggle and a Thumb button, working one hand on the keyboard and one the mouse I can go a lot faster than I did with all the other fancy equipment.

    I am sure with enough practice one could take full advantage of all the extra buttons, if you actually used them enough, I found I only use a very limited part of AutoCAD for the most part on a daily basis.

    Too many buttons on modern game controllers for me.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Revit & AutoCAD LT Workstation - Build or Buy?
    By Glen1980 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2015, 04:49 pm
  2. Workstation for autocad 3D up to us$2000
    By danielk in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2013, 06:14 pm
  3. Building AutoCAD 2012 Workstation
    By AQucsaiJr in forum Catch All
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2011, 01:18 am
  4. Get AutoCAD installations on workstation in VBA
    By MSasu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2010, 01:10 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts