+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    88

    Default Creating a solid from 3D Faces

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I tried to create a solid using 3dpoly but for some reason I am not able to transform this closed 3dpolylines into surfaces.
    Then I just created 3dfaces.
    How do I generate a solid using all of this 3dfaces?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    What exactly are you trying to create that first tried using a 3Dpolyline then switched to a 3DFace?

    While I am waiting on a reply, and without the benefit of knowing/seeing what you are attempting to create, I will suggest one possible solution. Convert the 3Dfaces to surfaces using CONVTOSURFACE then use the SURFSCULPT command to generate the required solid. Caveat: the surfaces better be watertight otherwise SURFSCULPT will fail.

    Still no reply?

    OK. Here is a second possible solution that I thought of. Find and use the F2S lisp routine created by Bill Gillis. It is described thusly...

    F2S.lsp creates a single ACIS solid from selected 3dfaces, touching or not

    If neither one works then you did something wrong and I have no other solutions to offer other than to recreate the object from scratch using a different method.
    Last edited by ReMark; 9th Feb 2017 at 07:40 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    88

    Default

    It seems I did everything you mention in your post. Convtosurface didn't work with 3dpoly (or randomly worked), also using surfsculpt doesn't work with the surfaces created from 3dfaces.
    I tried F2S and the solid created is not even close to how the solid should look like.
    I thought that Convtosurface will turn all the closed 3dpolylines into surfaces, but as I said It is not consistent (only surfaces parallel with X plane were created). Any idea why this is happening?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    You want me to diagnose the problem without the benefit of seeing a drawing? No can do. Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post. If the file size is too large then upload it to a file sharing website like DropBox then post a link to it here.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    88

    Default

    This is what I was talking about.
    Thanks
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    See if this works for you. I've got to go shovel out from under 10"+ of snow.

    3DSolid as requested.dwg

    Saved in 2010 file format.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    Don't bother with the drawing above. I like this one better.

    3DSolid from lofted closed polylines and two surfaces.dwg

    The name of the drawing will give you some clue as to what I did. To pull it all together I used the SURFSCULPT command.

    Got to go now. Have fun.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    88

    Default

    What did you do after the Loft?
    How did you create the top and btm surfaces? with Surfpatch?
    For solid did you use Surfsculpt?
    Thanks

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    After the loft I created the top and bottom surfaces using lines and the EDGESURF command. Then it was a matter of just using SURFSCULPT to create the solid.
    Last edited by ReMark; 10th Feb 2017 at 01:11 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Great, I forgot about Edgesurf command.
    Thanks for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with creating a solid out of faces.. or suggest a solution
    By Murphy625 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2015, 08:22 pm
  2. 3D faces or surface to 3D solid model
    By nic6911 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2013, 04:45 pm
  3. Extruding faces on a 3D solid question.
    By Cerberus in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2010, 03:25 pm
  4. Rendering faces of a solid in 3D Max
    By xoom2 in forum UVW Mapping, Textures & Materials
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st May 2004, 11:50 am
  5. Extrude faces on a solid
    By Orbit in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2003, 04:56 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts