+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,166

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We can eliminate all doubt, if you could post a file exhibiting the behavior.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,798

    Default

    I moved your thread to the Mechanical & MDT Forum, perhaps it is a Mechanical specific problem.

    Yes, posting a .dwg would certainly help eliminate some things.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    I moved your thread to the Mechanical & MDT Forum, perhaps it is a Mechanical specific problem.

    Yes, posting a .dwg would certainly help eliminate some things.
    Thanks for everyone's input. As i was paring down the file to upload, i found a mechanical layer that was frozen, but it was not the layer that i was trying to use to apply the dimension with. I feel like an idiot. I guess now my question is how is that association made, but i should probably ask that on a different forum. I don't use Mechanical very often, so maybe that's my issue?

  4. #14
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    This has probably already been covered, but I am too tired right now to re-read the thread, and I can't remember.

    Are you working through a viewport? If so, is your dim layer frozen in that one viewport? The way I learned about this technique many years ago, was by being confronted with someone else's drawing with two dimension layers, DIMS and DETAIL DIMS. DIMS was frozen in all the detail (large scale) viewports, and DETAIL DIMS was frozen in all the rest.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #15
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I can look into it tomorrow. I didnt create the original, so I don't know how the drawing was originally set up.

Similar Threads

  1. are mechanical 2013 & full desktop 2013 drawing files compatible?
    By michaelmcneil in forum Mechanical & MDT
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Dec 2014, 02:49 pm
  2. AutoCad Mechanical 2013 Content Library
    By delliott in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2013, 01:22 pm
  3. Autocad Mechanical 2013 Power Dim Text
    By harley558 in forum Mechanical & MDT
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2012, 10:00 pm
  4. AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 Commandline Docking
    By CADGUY7779 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2012, 07:50 pm
  5. Migrating content center from AutoCAD Mechanical 2012 to 2013
    By NoelStalker in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th May 2012, 06:49 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts