+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28
  1. #21
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    In standard drafting practice, a line is not shown where a cylindrical surface blends in with a flat, perfectly tangent surface. This standard has never been part of the hidden line routines for AutoCAD. The lines you are complaining about are integral to AutoCAD line drawing display functions.

    There are a couple of things you can do to get rid of them.

    #1, use a shaded surface visualstyle (e.g., conceptual, realistic, etc.) rather than a line drawing visualstyle. Or you can use render. This solution will yield an image with no definitive edges which you apparently do not like.

    #2. Change to 2D wireframe visualstyle, set dispsilh to 1 then give the hide command. Select all of the lines then give Ctrl-C to copy the lines to the Windows clipboard. Now open MS Word or Power Point and do a Paste Special- Picture (Windows Metafile). Continuing in Word you can now select the image, right-click and choose Group, Ungroup. At this stage you can delete unwanted lines, change their color and lineweight. When you are done editing the lines select them all and regroup. At this point I usually set the aspect ratio of the image to stay fixed so I can scale the image without distortion.

    I have used technique #2 hundreds of times to make high quality line drawings for technical documentation drawings.

    Let me know if you would like more detail for this process.

    ~Lee

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Nice explanation but the OP has bigger problems than what lines are or are not visible.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Your geometry has overlapping endpoints between a straight line segment and the arc it is supposed to connect to. The overlap measures 0.02026863. And this is where it is located.

    ProfileError.jpg

    One other thing. I'm not sure you have a true ninety angle for your arcs which may be throwing things off as well. Did you construct the profile while in an isometric view and perhaps make an erroneous pick?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Hi Irm. I followed your #2 thanks
    I got rid of the unwanted lines, shame that it can't be done in AutoCAD Visual Style. That means if you change the View, you have to do the paste to WORD procedures again.
    But thanks to all of you guys.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    I'm curious. Given that the drawing, not to mention the design, suffers from some serious problems what good is a pretty picture going to do you? Is it something just to show the wife or maybe to start a conversation with an architect?
    Last edited by ReMark; 14th Feb 2017 at 08:10 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Even if it's just for a pretty picture, bad geometry can cause problems when applying materials and can also cause lighting and shadow anomalies and strange artifacts when rendering. It's always best to build models correctly in order to avoid problems down the line.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Yes thank you ReMark and Cad64.
    I shouldn't have made mistake like that, will be careful and not rushing things next time.

  8. #28
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I see that dreamer likes to receive information but is very reluctant to share information. Good luck with that approach in the future.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. how do you un-union solids?
    By dumfatnhappy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2015, 03:34 pm
  2. why I can't hide hidden lines after an union solids?
    By stenews in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2011, 08:03 pm
  3. Removing unwanted solids after union command
    By MARTIN PETERS in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2010, 07:43 pm
  4. Problem with union and solids
    By Yorick in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2007, 12:18 pm
  5. Creating a Union between non co-planar solids.
    By steamwise in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2006, 02:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts