+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you create that view using VIEWBASE commands, then you can freeze the layer MD_Hidden_Narrow and it won't show in the views in PS. HTH
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    There is something strange going on with your model. When I isolate that curved piece, the image below is what I see. This is all one piece and is listed as a 3D Solid. I'm not sure what's happening here, but you might want to reconstruct that piece.
    That curved piece is modeled by Polysolid because of failure Extrude from Polyline, I used other route to get me the model. But it still can't explain why the line between the far left wall and the shorter pillar is visible.

    rkent. Sorry that I do know understand your procedure.

    ReMark. My problem is the visible lines after 3D Solids union not the window lines.

    Thanks guys.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Is this a school project?

    The visibility of those lines is the least of your problems. Changes to system variables like VSEDGES cannot make up for poorly constructed models. As suggested previously you should probably consider starting over.

    How much AutoCAD experience do you have?

    If you have questions about how to create portions of a 3D model then you should ask. There are plenty of long time forum members, here at CADTutor, experienced in 3D to assist you as well as to advise you on proper construction techniques and practices that will only benefit your design.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    What are you referring to by the words "outlines" and "panes"? Are you talking about the flat two dimensional windows? You do realize that the majority of the inside of your building is one big solid and that the windows are basically drawn on the front and side faces. You cannot peer into them and see the building's interior. Nothing about the windows is really 3D.

    rkent's suggestion does work.

    Attachment 60639
    The resulted drawing is difficult to understand.
    VSEDGES=0.jpg

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can't have it both ways meaning you can't get rid of some of the lines that seem to be causing you such anguish and keep others. Your current drawing in and of itself is difficult to understand.

    Now please answer the two questions I previously asked.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Laughing

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You can't have it both ways meaning you can't get rid of some of the lines that seem to be causing you such anguish and keep others. Your current drawing in and of itself is difficult to understand.

    Now please answer the two questions I previously asked.
    Hi ReMark
    No this is not a school project.
    Over 10 years on and off AutoCAD experience.

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Well it doesn't seem like much of that was in 3D. What field do you work in? Are you remodeling an existing building or attempting to design a new one? How much construction and/or architectural experience do you have?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    3D Solids.dwg

    Why Extrude the Magenta Polyline object is not possible?

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Let's try again shall we?

    What field do you work in? Are you remodeling an existing building or attempting to design a new one? How much construction and/or architectural experience do you have?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer View Post
    Attachment 60646

    Why Extrude the Magenta Polyline object is not possible?
    Because somewhere along the way when you created that profile it intersected with itself (ex. - could be overlapping ends of lines) and AutoCAD won't extrude what it calls a "self-intersecting curve."

    BTW...I found the offending curve but unless you look closely it won't be readily apparent. You need to brush up on your 2D skills.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. how do you un-union solids?
    By dumfatnhappy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2015, 03:34 pm
  2. why I can't hide hidden lines after an union solids?
    By stenews in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2011, 08:03 pm
  3. Removing unwanted solids after union command
    By MARTIN PETERS in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2010, 07:43 pm
  4. Problem with union and solids
    By Yorick in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2007, 12:18 pm
  5. Creating a Union between non co-planar solids.
    By steamwise in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2006, 02:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts