+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    23

    Default 3D cross sections to a 3D mesh or triangulation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all,

    Just as the title says really, I've got a number of 3D cross sections of a bridge beam that I am trying to convert in to one 3D mesh.

    The 3D mesh command within AutoCAD wants the elements to be closed polylines or an existing 3D shape for example..... but what I have got is a load of 3D polylines with open ends.

    I would have thought that the software would have had an intelligence command of some sort to mesh lines together that are close enough (or within a specified distance), but seems no such command is available.

    So I'm guessing it is a multi-step approach..... anybody have any ideas how to go about this?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Attached an image of what I am trying to do...
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    23

    Default

    As you can see from the image above.... one of the beams has sustained substantial damage and has bent.
    By having this model as a mesh it could be visualised easier.


    For analytical purposes the current model is sufficient as it is comprised of 3D cross-sections already that can be compared to the ideal for deviations etc.
    But would really know how to mesh it just for completeness and ease of presenting visualisation to others.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Without having a copy of the drawing to actually test this on I can only speculate that the following method "might" work.

    First use the LOFT command on the 3Dpolylines to create a surface. Then use the MESHSMOOTH command to create a mesh. Finally, use either the MESHSMOOTHMORE or MESHSMOOTHLESS command to tweak the final shape of the beam.
    Last edited by ReMark; 15th Feb 2017 at 12:37 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    I've got to go to a meeting soon but here are the results of a simple test I conducted. The final mesh in yellow was obtained by using the MESHSMOOTHLESS command. The visual style used for the first image was 2Dwireframe. The visual style used for the second image was Conceptual.

    MeshConvert1.jpg

    MeshConvert2.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Cheers guys... going through the model at the moment with those commands with various amounts of success.

    Its working on some of the cross-sections but then not able to join on to others.

    But at least I've now got something to dig my teeth in to.

Similar Threads

  1. Cross sections
    By LEIGH in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd Jul 2012, 02:09 pm
  2. Cross sections
    By Ubrigens in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2012, 11:02 pm
  3. Cross Sections
    By Copac in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2009, 04:33 am
  4. Cross Sections of topography
    By mcjohn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 05:21 am
  5. 3D Cross Sections
    By MudSkid in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2009, 07:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts