+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1

    Smile creating layer with code for each point

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hello guys !!
    im trying to import Points from Leica device and i want to creat a layer for each Point depending on its code ,if anyone have ideas how to do it i will be thanksfull
    best regards !!!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    That sounds very similar to stringing points.

    For a fuller explanation, I would recommend that you do a web search using "survey stringing into cad".

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Like eldon thats why programs like CIV3D exist.

    I do have some knowledge about this being involved in civil software sales in the past.

    I know it keeps coming back to me to do something.

    The layer part is the easy part its the string that is hardest but I will try to explain a possible method. When you take a survey shot you record the object description eg "EB" or "403" edge of bitumen so that point goes on the layer "Ex_Edge_bit". You add a string prefix or suffix to the code which is a string that means join all 01EB together join all 02EB together in simple terms left and right. A possible solution is to use excel and sort twice sort the points based on ptnumber 1st then code second, noting 00EB is a point only. There is all sorts of smarts that can be added like a 3pt arc, a combo of two descriptions eg where a fence meets the intersection of another fence. I know these because it was in the software that I sold.

    You can then line by line join and draw lines on correct layer. Its not rocket science just a involved task, that me for one just can not find the time to do it.

    Can you post a Leica sample file I am not offering anything at this time but more about getting test data from different sources.

    n,x,y,z,01EB
    n,x,y,z,01EB
    n,x,y,z,01EB
    n,x,y,z,02EB
    n,x,y,z,02EB
    n,x,y,z,02EB
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    I thought Leica devices came with software that could do that. We haven't had one in a long time, but check out:
    http://www.leica-geosystems.us/en/Su...tware_4761.htm

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    tombu you are correct I worked for Topcon and they wrote a dxf file that was strung.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    tombu you are correct I worked for Topcon and they wrote a dxf file that was strung.
    Currently we use Trimble for data collection, but when I started at Leon County they did all their Cogo with Wildsoft which was a product of Leica until they quit supporting it in 1994. Did I just show my age?

Similar Threads

  1. intertion point can someone help me to continue to lisp code
    By plecs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2014, 01:58 am
  2. Creating Code Snippets
    By Tyke in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th May 2013, 06:16 pm
  3. Help Please - with creating efficient code
    By j_spawn_h in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th May 2012, 10:07 pm
  4. DXF code for Locked Layer
    By Sweety in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2010, 03:21 am
  5. VB.Net Code to Read a CSV Point File (Tutorial)
    By RMS in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2010, 01:49 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts