+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Moghul-Kahn's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Moghul-Kahn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8.1 pro
    Computer:
    lenovo y510p
    CPU:
    i5 2.6
    RAM:
    8gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 755 Gt 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    SSD Samsung Magician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Dubai - India - India - Dubai :)
    Posts
    7

    AutoCAD HVAC Ducting in Autocad MEP - scheduling , printing , tag

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi friends, this is my first post here . I am relatively new to Autocad MEP . I recently got a job as Mechanical Engineer in an HVAC design and installation firm in a junior level, and I need to practice before joining.

    I tried learning the software by my own through youtube and several of my doubts have cleared through google. But some things cannot be solved by google search and hence I have arrived here.

    I have taken the autocad 2d plan of my own house from my Dad , and started practicing drawing and sizing the ducts .

    I have attached the dwg file here :

    Final file -
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/84lqro3b70...katra.dwg?dl=0

    Used for Xref ground floor plan-
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/x8e241aat9...round.dwg?dl=0

    Used for Xref first floor plan-
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/rqfe5xoyxw...first.dwg?dl=0


    These are my doubts:

    1) I wish to know my duct modelling method is correct or not . I roughly estimated the flowrate required for each room , divided it by the number of diffusers that I wish to place , got the flow rate for each diffuser and assigned it to each diffuser after placing them in a room.I followed this step for all rooms . Then I started the duct drawing . I chose 2 line duct method and started from the major trunk , selected all diffusers of the same floor , got total flow rate and and duct size was obtained (medium pressure lane - velocity around 5m/s).

    Is this the right method ?

    2) I roughly placed the diffusers just to practice drafting. In the professional way, how to place them at particular distance from walls? I know the array function only . May be this question is dump ,but trust me I am new to Autocad thts why.

    3) I have assigned different layers for each floor , ie blue for ground floor ducts and red for 1st floor ducts. This was done hoping that I can hide them when needed to take print out . Sorry for my stupid idea , plz tell me which is the real method to take prints in 2d for each floor separately .

    4) While taking the 2d view after hiding all other floors , some of my ducts and connectors are partially visible . Its like if some portion got erased with an eraser partially. How to fix this ?

    5) This one might be the stupidest of all. Does layer color come in printout ? If I choose light green , Its barely visible ? like that? or all comes in black ?

    6) In the schedule table , which I plan to create consisting of duct length and duct size , I wish to give them a series-name or tag . And I need these tags to appear in the drawing on each ducts or very near it. I have no idea how to create tags for ducts. I can only see tags for air terminals and some other stuffs. I need tags for all the things in my drawing. My wish is to make the drawing easy to understand. A simple numbering over the ducts or equipment will be enough . I will sort and group them in scheduling table.

    7) Some say , autocad 2d is used for hvac drafting in most companies . Why dont they use Autocad MEP ? The standard library of autocad mep doesnt match with SMACNA standards? Or is it the difficulty to create custom equipment in the library ? Or is it the fact that even if we make in 3d , the printout will be always in 2d ? All the features in autocad 2d can be done in 3d anyway right?

    Is it possible to change the diameter of an air terminal like diffuser in our list of diffusers ? I know they have different diameters or l x b , but I wish to knw the method for modifying it. When I googled , I saw a big tough method to import a library list or something like this and copy the default list etc etc . I just need to create a new diffuser with a custom diameter with the existing design, possible ?

    9) Usually , is schedule table printed along with the plan ? or is it just exported to excel and taken print ? Can the method of scheduling used to create bill of materials in excel ? Is this feature available in autocad 2d? This is a great advantage over autocad 2d?

    10) The formula used in duct sizer is the same as the one in autocad mep right? duct sizer uses the simple formula - q= vA and darcy weibash equation right? the same with autocad right?

    11) After I drafted , I didnt right click on my duct and choose - 'calculate duct sizes'. Since I had already sized the duct accordingly when drafting by the method described in point -1 . In the analysis tab - view by friction option was there. I was curious and tried it . But the all ducts were green in color despite I saw the duct friction loss higher than 0.7pa/m . Green was supposed to be <0.7 pa/s. Then I wasted 2 days searching this and understood that the color coding was based on the data in the engineering pallete in extended data pallete. when I clicked this option to 'calculate duct sizes' , I didn't choose 'apply the resizing to parts with defined size ' option. As a result , the engineering data got filled and blue and green along with red in some places showedup . I was happy . But , now in design tab , the flow rate got a bit reduced . The flow rate shown in engineering tab is in L/s , which is the correct flowrate which I had ipout in design pallete first (by selecting diffusers and pressed calculate button near flowrate). When i click a duct, the flowrate shown in design pallete now, after 'calculate duct size' option is lesser than the designed flow rate shown in beginning. I am completely okay with this as I get this data in L/s from engineering pallete , but I am afraid if this method of duct sizing which I did is wrong or correct .

    Out of these questions , I wish to know about the right method to take print (mentioned in doubt 3) for duct plan in each floor separately and doubt 6 is very urgent and consumed my entire day.

    Please understand that I have been learning this for a week now by my own and many of my questions might be silly for you. The tutorials available in youtube is very less compared to some other software such as solidworks , catia , ansys or abaqus etc . So , each doubt takes a lot of time searching !! Please help guyz , Ill be really grateful . When I become expert in autocad , i will also be helping the new people , but I should master it first

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Long post. I'll try to come back to answer all your questions after reviewing your CAD files. Just as an FYI, especially in India and Dubai, many engineers have moved on to Revit MEP instead of AutoCAD MEP. You may want to look into this for yourself. I'd hate for you to invest into a robust software for a long time only to be forced to pick up Revit since this is where the industry is headed anyways.

    More info here:
    http://www.autodesk.com/products/revit-family/mep

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie Moghul-Kahn's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Moghul-Kahn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8.1 pro
    Computer:
    lenovo y510p
    CPU:
    i5 2.6
    RAM:
    8gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 755 Gt 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    SSD Samsung Magician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Dubai - India - India - Dubai :)
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thankyou for ur reply. Is revit beneficial for an hvac design engineer ? People will change from hap to revit for design ? why still classic autocad is preferred in hvac? im curius

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Revit is an engineering application. AutoCAD is a drawing application. AutoCAD is the industry standard in "creating drawings" and has been for quite some time. Revit can interface with HAP loads software, and is much more tuned for the engineer. AutoCAD MEP (which is an in-house 3rd party add-on for AutoCAD) has tools for engineering, but Revit has taken the architectural and structural design industries by storm, thus naturally requiring Revit as the platform of choice - even required - for MEP engineers.

    AutoCAD MEP didn't even arrive on the scene until a few years after Autodesk bought Revit in the early 2000's. Since you are using AutoCAD MEP for sizing calcs, etc, then I would suggest using Revit instead, however AutoCAD is still very relevant and you should not dismiss it either. Learning both, with a heavier emphasis on Revit, would be very beneficial to you.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie Moghul-Kahn's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Moghul-Kahn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8.1 pro
    Computer:
    lenovo y510p
    CPU:
    i5 2.6
    RAM:
    8gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 755 Gt 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    SSD Samsung Magician
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    MEP 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Dubai - India - India - Dubai :)
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thankyou brother . As you said , I have got in to Revit 2017 , its quite faster than autocad mep and less buggy. But I am trapped now . Its a silly thing . Ive posted it separately:

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...720#post679720

    Btw, please dont waste time in the above autocad mep thing. Its okay i left it.

Similar Threads

  1. HVAC Ducting Program
    By The Buzzard in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 112
    Last Post: 9th Oct 2017, 09:28 pm
  2. Free 2d Ducting program
    By Nick-H- in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2014, 08:52 am
  3. AutoCAD/database scheduling solution?
    By DJL in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2012, 02:03 am
  4. Water Ducting Blocks
    By Primal Scientist in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2009, 03:39 pm
  5. ducting notes
    By chrisdarmanin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th Dec 2008, 04:59 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts