Template setup...

spittle

I'm new to MEP and am seting up our styles and template.

How have you set up the way the software generates 2D linework?

Do you tend to derive linework properties from section styles, Element styles, or materials?

I'm trying to derive from material styles - I've not worked out how to do it yet though! I've set up my material but my sections are still displaying as per "edit object display"...

Well, Material Styles can be tricky. It depends on exactly what you're aiming for, not to mention what type of material you're working with. With materials, I think you mean objects. When you say "Materials" I'm thinking raster images for rendering.

There are endless ways to use tricks and procedures to generate what is to represent "2D Linework". My first question is, what will you be using MEP for? Piping, Plumbing, HVAC, or Electrical?

As far as sections, that's pretty easy. You simply create a Section Line or Elevation Line, and generate a 2D view from the section line and select the objects you want viewed.

I will be producing construction drawings for the water treatment industry. This will include concrete structures, pipework, pumps etc.

My first job is of a pumping station, an existing 3D model has been supplied by a laser scanning contractor so walls and floors are not exactly straight.

They've supplied pipework in MEP, the rest is in 3D solids. I've scapped the materials idea - this was add a meterial within the element properties - inside the material you can edit linework.

Anyway - I'm back to using 'by layer' for each object.

One problem I'm having is lines being missing.

And should shrinkwrap be on? Although it looks better when on - I loose control over my 3D objects i.e. shrinkwrap ignores the layers that my 3D objects are on.

For the proposed work I will be adding support steelwork for the pipework, penstocks, new pipework, benching etc. It would be good to establish the right approach early on...