Angles and distance

Keavney90

I am currently using 2010 version of AutoCAD and I am having difficulties sorting out my angles.

I need to make a line of 25 at an angle of 150 degrees.

Apon doing this it always goes the wrong direction to which I want the line to be facing.

I am not very good at maths but any suggestions would be much appriated.

Thank you for any responces given.

Keavney.

Remember that AutoCAD, by default, considers angle "0" to be at the 3 o'clock position so that an angle of 150 degrees will be at the 10 o'clock position. You can change the direction of "0", if you wish, through the UNITS command.

They way I would draw a line at length of 25 at an angle of 150 degrees would simply be;

Line command, click on screen where you wish to start your line, then type the following.

This should work.

Thank you, all your responses have been very useful & are much appreiated. I have managed to do this now thanks to your help.

I'm sure I'll be back soon with yet another worry!

Another simple technique is to draw a straight horizontal or vertical line at desired distance and then rotate it.

Taking this a step further -

you have a line at some angle.

you want another line at a given angle to the first.

rotate copy the first line at the given angle.

Lengthen total the new line to get correct length (or draw construction circle at rotation point and trim the second line).

This sort of problem is often given on a test to see if you really know how to manipulate angles by geometry (rather than calculations - you can certainly do the calculations - but it will take several times as long to solve the problem).

Something I don't see mentioned that affects your result is, standard AutoCAD is set to use the "right hand rule" for rotation. That means that a positive rotation value will produce a counterclockwise rotation.