3D Round Objects showing multiple flat faces

FernandoLucchesi

Hi! I'm new here, actually i'm pretty new at AutoCAD either, just got started last week... So, i'm trying to learn about AutoCAD, today i was trying to create a Glass cup, i've created it with REVSURF, at my first try it got square with only SIX faces, so after some seraching, i was told to set "SURTFTAB1" and "SURFTAB2" to a higher number like 18, so i configured them to 36... After that, the cup was looking pretty good and round, but then, i rendered it, at the highest quality "Presentation". But the cup continues to show the flat little faces, i would like to know if it's normal or am i doing something wrong? maybe i should do it with a circle and then press/pull it with a smaller circle on the top? I'll post a picture of it so you guys can have an idea of what i am talking about. You'll see that my bump map is not really getting along with the brick texture aswell! LOL! Any help is welcome! Thanks!

render0031.jpg

Edited by FernandoLucchesi

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• FernandoLucchesi

• ReMark

• tzframpton

• SEANT

Personally, I would not use REVSURF to create a glass like you did. The two options that immediately come to mind would be REVOLVE (using a profile) and EXTRUDE or even PRESSPULL on the base and side of the glass (then UNION the two).

Personally, I would not use REVSURF to create a glass like you did. The two options that immediately come to mind would be REVOLVE (using a profile) and EXTRUDE or even PRESSPULL on the base and side of the glass (then UNION the two).

Thanks! I'll try the three options and then i'll post the results... =)