Good CAD 3D

Joro--

Hello all,

which would be the best 3D CAD Application for HVAC systems?

I need the application just to draw pipes and ducts systems and for bill of quantities, any other calculations are not important in this case. Up to now I have been using 2D for the drawings, but some drawings come to us also in 3D and for this reason I need a 3D tool.

It would be nice to have some opinions for Applications like Autocad MEP, Revit, PIT, CATS or smth else suitable to get a general orientation in this sphere.

Regards,

Joro

• 1 year later...

I know this is a very old post but Im just going to throw in my 2 cents anyways.

I have been using Revit and Autocad for about 7 years, so not that long, but enough to form a love hate relationship with Revit. It works great IF you know its bugs and problems. Visual issues seem to big one of the biggest problems that arise. You have a LOT of specific settings that can leave you perplexed and scratching your head until you start to recognize them. That being said, Revit is famous for having a mind of its own and doing weird **** for no reason.

I have been using CADmep for about 90 days, and couldnt be more in love, Im like Revit who? When I read about people praising Revit over CADmep, It confuses me. CADmep is so much more user friendly. The set up is more user friendly, even the errors are more user friendly.

I cant attest to things like scheduling because being on the design side, thats not something I have to mess with. I do know that scheduling is one thing Revit does make easy.

After my short time here with CADmep, I never want to Revit again.

Welcome to the CADTutor forum. :) You should be hearing from our in-house Revit expert in about 60 seconds. Get a cup of coffee to fortify yourself.

Welcome to the CADTutor forum. :) You should be hearing from our in-house Revit expert in about 60 seconds. Get a cup of coffee to fortify yourself.

The heart wants what the heart wants.... :0)