Unsure of which CAD software to use.

parapraxis24

Hello all, I'm completely new to CAD in general so I'll list what my goals are and hopefully you can guide me to the correct software to use.

My goal is to eventually 3D print a steering column mounted gauge pod, similar to this:mk4dualgauges.jpg

So as you can imagine it needs to be fairly precise so the fitment is good. It does not replace the existing column, simply fits over top of it and is held in place by Velcro or tape.

Now instead of starting from scratch, I used 123D Catch and have this render: olMVlREJmaR-IJD_XnrNB1Itftp4CF5X2Vx60hMVcBi34VhJyr3MOkSDHNTc03fdOYEbbEtWY66t-RgwEwglijo-pAQEzS_FHLbyaKt4kCqFTI7TZafHmNhn5N2QOA5sBrEKUdzJggH0yWpV8yk17kj1mfVDSpoAy3QlAnjk6ZCFsqzglezttPS3RspOWmP5Bbxk8F1tcqbjHY7I5vvyTkuvMv6OB10fiewmd3M7M6xuh7s736ltnkLkocik_5OZDNE0GWjz9vRNWohSHlrseuefeNAsr3MlTKo82XArUUG2vjloCfK9tUr5B4O49n60tFwDaK8qSWsW_zIV_Y3MxMRYC4JkRVvtd6WPb_auY41FEReJfeHnNRl1lNRISPecDF3BJatpALjp1cXnKFRHLvShwq6p76R02QgdOryrVIvWHE4j8LxZ8tUgkp26YSruEIKtagQ1n_od7o0qCG4sLiRgZ5jtjH0aPbKdij9-2t0yhF8qVme5rs5f62-e2drIHuzz_bDXRe11zgJPy9_9gTbGS8mRnVmABZwZaClJ0DloKRbWwY8OMBL-8N2XD-C_BG3Cqfn0gnoOEEmBqaFucGBQ9O8PWysB=w2430-h1620-no

There is a lot of extra bits that will not be necessary, all I will need is the solid piece on the left, so as you can tell it will need to be trimmed/clipped quite extensively to do this. I will also need to be able to accurately measure it as precise fitment is important. I will also need to be able to add the gauge pods themselves, so I'll need something that will allow a seamless addition onto my existing render.

Now as for what I have access to so I can edit, and hopefully print a working model (bear with me, I don't know what each piece of software is used for so I'm just going to list everything CAD/Design related that I can use):

Rhinoceros 5

Sketchup, Layout, and Style builder

Solidworks 2014 and 2015

3DS Max, AutoCAD, Maya, Revit (all 2016)

Blender