flexible strap with gravity?

3dCADguy

Quick question:

I want to create an assembly in which a nylon webbed strap (like the one you tie stuff down with in trucks or the TRX straps) will be flexible. Is this possible in Inventor or Solidworks? I want it so move as the two things its connected to move, and have it be the limiting factor to stop the things from moving when it's fully stretched. I see a lot of stuff with cables online but I would like to accurately simulate the actual part I'm using, which is a webbed strap, if possible with maybe a spline and driving the spline and maybe sweeping a profile over the spline? Would something like that work? I'm a noob so if I butchered that i'm sorry.

• 2 weeks later...

Made this in four minutes. Create the part you are going to secure. Then create a new part, derive the first part, use it's projected geometry to draw your strap. Create assembly and bring two parts in, ground and root components. Add the parameters to your favorites and drive. There might be simulation software to test things but that is beyond my scope without more info. Thought I would show you this and see if that makes sense or is helpful. The more info provided the better answers you'll get.

Here are two chain videos that might help. Maybe make small sections of strap, link them, and constrain to one side plane to maintain your strap loop.

Dont forget you posted the same topic in the solidworks forum.