View Full Version : Autocad 2009 and Vista problems

25th Nov 2008, 04:38 pm
I just purchased a new HP laptop with vista home premium, service pack 1, 64 bit, dual core processors. I told the guy specifically that I needed to run Cad and he said it would, but when I try to install 09 it tells me that it I can't install on this operating system. Has anyone else had this problem, or was I robbed? Thanks in advance for any and all advise.

25th Nov 2008, 04:46 pm
Is the Autocad version you're trying to install for 64 bit, or 32 bit?

25th Nov 2008, 05:10 pm
32, is this a problem?

25th Nov 2008, 05:13 pm
Apparently... ask your reseller for a 64 bit version.

25th Nov 2008, 05:15 pm
Thanks for the advise.

25th Nov 2008, 05:18 pm
If your media is DVD, you should have the 64 bit version (along with the 32 bit).

25th Nov 2008, 05:25 pm
I also have a 64 bit computer and tried to load the 32 bit disk and it failed. The 64 bit did load sucessfully, also be sure to get the needed updates and hot fixes.

25th Nov 2008, 06:01 pm
The latest version of AutoCAD should recognize if you have a 32-bit or 64-bit system and load the appropriate version.

25th Nov 2008, 06:43 pm
when I recieved
MEP 2009 it came with 2 disks, one for 32 and one for 64 which kinda made it a no brainer.....