AlinOz's Tips

AlinOz

Just thought this would be a good place to 'whack in' my input into the one place. Been around for a couple of Decades with AutoCAD and all self taught (trial and Error), so I have a few little things that may be left field that I've worked out over time.

Here's my first bit of advice - If you think there may be a better way of doing something in AutoCAD, there probably is...

The next bit is - Anyone who thinks they know everything about AutoCAD is fooling themselves - As a user for 20 years, trust me, there is always something new to learn!!!

That's it for now - my Tips follow

Seeing that Tool Palettes seem to be the flavour (flavor for my US friends) of the month, here's one that can save a lot of setup time.

Problem: I've just dragged in 20 blocks from a drawing in DesignCenter to my tool Palette. Perfect... But I want to automatically insert them on a particular layer, allow them to rotate or carry out any of the other 'attributes' available from the Tool Properties Dialogue. I've just got bored adjusting the first 5 and questioning is it really worth the hassle. Using the left mouse button just wants to insert the Block so I cant use the Shift or control keys to select multiple Tools for editing.

Solution: Right Click on the first tool that you want to select - yes the pull-down appears, but don't worry about that for now. Hit the Shift or the CTRL Key as neccessary (I'll assume you all know the difference between the Shift and the CTRL keys and what they do during selections) and then using the Left hand button you can choose multiple Tools. When you have selected the Tools you want to apply the settings to, Right Mouse click on any of the selected Tools, choose Properties, make the appropriate adjustments in the dialogue an they're applied to all the chosen tools.

Try it, it's a great time saver and ensures consistency between the insertions8)