PDA

View Full Version : Where do I stand legally with Autodesk?



Gary_W
29th Jul 2009, 01:30 am
I have been offered a copy of ACAD LT 2010 from a business which bought it but has never installed/activated it yet. Now obviously their name is registered as the buyer/purchaser, but what if I bought it from them and installed/activated myself? would this be OK in Autodesk Land??? or would this be a No No!!!

Any advice appreciated...

I don't what to call my re seller as I know what they would say!!! $$$

:D

Tankman
29th Jul 2009, 01:54 am
I might think AutoDesk would honor your activation request.

New install, not yet activated, why not give it a shot?

Cad64
29th Jul 2009, 02:06 am
Autocad licenses are generally non-transferrable. You can submit a "Transfer of License (http://saarc.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=5967151&id=6013147)" form to Autodesk, but there's no guarantee they will consent.

ReMark
29th Jul 2009, 12:15 pm
I don't see why AutoDesk wouldn't allow the transfer unless they just want to stick it to the business that bought LT in the first place. So the business made a mistake. So what? If everything is being done above board then AutoDesk ought to show some flexibility. It isn't as though you got the software on the black market or that you are trying to pull a fast one.

f700es
29th Jul 2009, 01:18 pm
The courts made AutoDesk change their policy on this. Before you could not transfer the license but since AutoDesk "sold" the license on their web site the courts said that since they "sold" them that they could be re-sold.
You should be OK in this.

JD Mather
29th Jul 2009, 03:15 pm
The courts made AutoDesk change their policy on this. Before you could not transfer the license but since AutoDesk "sold" the license on their web site the courts said that since they "sold" them that they could be re-sold.
You should be OK in this.


Are you willing to fund any lawsuit that the OP has to file to get Autodesk to allow registration of the software if there is a problem?

Ryder76
29th Jul 2009, 03:43 pm
The courts made AutoDesk change their policy on this. Before you could not transfer the license but since AutoDesk "sold" the license on their web site the courts said that since they "sold" them that they could be re-sold.
You should be OK in this.

Do you have a URL where this is stated? Maybe the OP could google for it and that should be sufficient as documentation for CYA. At least that is what I would do and then contact Autodesk and request the license transfer so that the OP has all the documentation needed to be legal and above board.

Hope one of these helps in your pursuit.

http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/qaID.asp?tip=3470

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2965859&linkID=9240615

http://saarc.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=5967151&id=6032107

http://www.cadinfo.net/editorial/AutodeskEULAchanges.htm

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080225200316AA9o56o

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/message.jspa?messageID=6185015

http://www.caddmanager.com/CMB/2006/12/autocad-license-types/

ReMark
29th Jul 2009, 04:25 pm
Last I heard the court ruled against AutoDesk. I suspect that AutoDesk did not waste any time filing a repeal and in the interim rewriting their EULA. Don't know the status of the case as of this point to say, with certainty, the business could or could not legally sell the software to the OP. That's why I suggested the "straddle-the-fence" approach. Meet them (AutoDesk) half way and see what happens.

f700es
29th Jul 2009, 04:26 pm
This was in the U.S. and he really should call the reseller about it but I think LT can be resold for sure.
Take notice that LT can be sold in places like Amazon and Overstock. Full new AutoCAD must be sold through an authorized reseller.

Gary_W
29th Jul 2009, 05:02 pm
Thanks for all info...

(Made a typo on the first the post, it should be LT 2009 and not 2010)

I have spoken to my local re seller today and he said it will be OK. He has asked me to forward him the serial number just to confirm its not been activated and if it has not been activated then all is well.

He even said if it had been previously activated by another company I could still do it, but I would have to upgrade to 2010 and pay the back subscription which would cost more than a new licence apparently...

:?

ReMark
29th Jul 2009, 05:20 pm
Sounds like almost everyone will be happy then. Good. Nice to hear that common sense ruled the day. No harm no foul.