Feasibility of CAD working over WAN

Denial27

I support an architects company that has 3 offices that are all quite a distance from each other, and they want to be able to work on the same jobs.

They currently have VPN links between the offices that work over adsl. about 700k up and 8mb down. This, as you can imagine, makes things quite slow.

I do not have a lot of experience with how Autocad works, but I want to learn, so I can figure out a better way for the offices to work on a project.

Is there anyone in here that have managed overcome similar problems?

What viable solutions are there?

Thanks

A filemanager interface that a user can 'check out' a file (no one else can alter it) and copy the 'checked out' file to the c: drive.

We have a custom program such as this at work (can't release it, so don't ask), but I know I've seen others like it. I've seen M-Files before, but I have zero knowledge about it. Do you have access to Autodesk's Vault, or is that just a Civil 3D addon?

Ok, I did type a nice long reply to this, but the forum has been set up to prevent links being posted (it was in the quote) in an effort to reduce spam... as a side effect, it wipes out the message as well..

I was thinking of a similar way of checking the files out. I was also thinking of synchronising the changed data between the offices on a nightly basis, but I don't know how well that would work, as only one office could work on a project per day.

I'll look into M-files, as they're also after some sort of DMS solution too.

I also have no idea what Autodesk Vault is, but i'm sure google does.

Thanks for the quick response.

A filemanager interface that a user can 'check out' a file (no one else can alter it) and copy the 'checked out' file to the c: drive.