Windows 7 and AutoCAD, new update resulting in crash?

Ashaman

Hi,

I'm a student and I'm currently learning to use AutoCAD 2010. I run Windows 7 Professional on my laptop and I haven't had any problems with it so far.

This weekend, however, when I run AutoCAD it crashes all the time. Another student in my class has the same problem. He did a reset of Windows, to the time before the newest update, and everything was fine for a while. We also turned off the automatic update.

But now the problem has now reoccured.

We can run AutoCAD for about 1 minute or a bit more if we don't do anything after starting the program, but then it just shuts down. It shuts down earlier if we Open or Save files.

Does anyone else have this problem, and does anyone have an answare that could help us?

All help is appreciated!

- Ashaman

Edit: I ran "Update 1" and the "Startup error, HotFix" and things seems to be better now, I'll get back to you if things starts to get problematic again.

I wrote an edit in the first post while you answared.

The program was updated to "Update 1" before I did the reset of OS, but I installed it again now. Seems like it's ok. Going to run the Windows Update now, and see what happens.

You're making use of the RESTORE option in Windows right?

Yes, and I restored it to a stage before the update.

I ran the Windows Update again now, and things was working fine... until I restarted AutoCAD, the problem reoccured again.

Looks like I have to skip the update then. Until I find a way to fix the problem.

My computer is an Acer Aspier 5530:

2.0GHz AMD X2 processor

ATI Radeon HD 3200 graphic card

4GB DDR2 memory

This should be enough, I believe.

The OS and AC is 32-bit (Had problems with the 64-bit download of Win7, student version)

Something changed then. The question is what? I would tend to think it had something to do with the Win7 update.

What kind of file size (drawing) are we talking?