blocks and advice

bjenk8100

Hello,

I am just really beginning to need the use of blocks on a large scale. I need some advice of how to utilize the block features. I use acad10. As of now I start a dwg file, make an object and save it as a block. I want to make a database of lots of blocks that I can use easily with numerous dwgs. Right now I will open the dwg with the blocks and copy/past them to another dwg i am working on. Is this the correct way to do this. I would think that blocks would save somewhere so I would not have to do that. Any advice would help, I am very new to blocks and scaling objects.

tnx

brian

You've got the right idea but this can also be done using you tool palette. Pressing Ctrl+3 should bring it up. Chances are yours will still have the default stuff in it. right click make your own and manipulate away. Using the design center (Ctrl+2) is the best way I've found to click and drag the blocks directly to the palette. I myself have about 24 custom tabs on mine.

Blocks can be dragged and dropped via the Design Center.

Or, as stated above, you can take the time and effort to create a new tool palette (or palettes) and populate it with the blocks. If you do so then group them logically. Example: I have tool palettes for isometric valves. All the actuated valves are near the top of the palette while all the manual valves are below them (in alphabetical order too). I have a second tool palette for other isometric symbols such as flanges, unions, filters, pumps, etc.

What field do you work it?

When you have everything you want on there it makes things much easier. I put all my files on one folder to simplify things so i can remake the palettes quickly. (seeing as i have had to make a new one every time a new version of cad comes out.) It also saves time looking all over a network for the appropriate blocks for the palette or otherwise.