My drawings take too long!

By day I work as a carpenter for a small construction company that builds mostly residential houses. By night, I draw their blueprints. It makes for a lot of work but I really love doing it, except I feel that it takes me more time than is necessary. I've never had the chance to work with a more experienced drafter than myself (other than in school) therefore I'm sure I'm missing out on many tricks of the trade.

It usually takes me about 30 - 40 hrs to complete a full set of plans for a 1500 to 2500 sq.ft home. This includes floor plans, basement plan, and all four elevations. Luckily, I'm paid by the hour but I always feel like I'm stickin' it to my boss. Also, I want to be able to give other contractors a good price without losing my shirt.

Basically I was hoping for any tips or tricks any one might have to make the process of creating 2D blueprints more efficient without cutting corners.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

It is really hard to say if it takes too long without knowing how you work and exactly what you do. Do you mind putting up an example of your work? A JPEG with a waterstamp woudl work just to get a feel of your work, I know there are others here in the the same business that can help you.

A few tiips off the top of my head:

- you should be able to make great use out of blocks. Dynamic blocks for windows/doors that always look the same but vary in width. Ordinary blocks for everything that you always draw for every house.

- A good template with the Layout (with borders, stamps, necessary texts, measuring bar and so on) already done, saves time when printing.

- ehm....use Polylines?

Troll mfg websites for downloadable autocad block and/or dwg sets of their appliances, sinks, tubs and the like.

Kholer, for instance has this library - http://www.us.kohler.com/tech/cadsymbol/cadsymbol.jsp?nsection=1&nsubsection=1&nitem=link8