How to write script for blockreplace

1badsti

Hi all,

I am new with autocad scripting. I want to replace a old titleblock to a new one and keep all the attributes of the oldtitle block.

Can you guys help me out how to write the script to change the titleblock.

I stuck after I insert the new titleblock into the drawing

Here is the code

-layer

n

s

-insert

K:\titleblock\titleblock-D-1.dwg

What i suppose to do next? Please help

that's it, start with the tricky one :) Attributed blocks can be a pain.

First the generalities, the most obvious way to deal with attributes is to supply all the attribute values in your script. I prefer to accept all the default values by setting ATTREQ = 0.

Now in your case. Is the change to the title block just graphical with no change in attribute tags or position? If so you should be able to implement your change with....

-insert
titleblock-d=k:\titleblock\titleblock-D-1.dwg

although I haven't tried it.

alternatively I rename the existing block to the new block name and then do something like

-insert
titleblock-d-1=

you will need to accept a "redefine?" question somewhere which will redefine your existing block and then escape inserting the new definition. There is a simple way to escape (I know, alant posted it a few weeks back) but I can't remember what it is so I aways complete the insert and then ERASE L to leave only one block.

If attributes have moved you need to ATTSYNC the new definition to get the attributes into their correct position.

However, if you have added attributes or theyhave been renamed I would advise against using a script.

I tried but still don't know how to copy all attributes from old titleblock to new one. I tried this code and i am able to insert the new title block into a blank area in model space.

_-insert NEWTITLEBLOCK-D-1=K:\TITLEBLOCK\NEWTITLEBLOCK-D-1

_-BLOCKREPLACE ??????