"while" loop Misunderstanding

KrazyMann225

I wanted my routine to search a file and a found the necessary information to do it, and it works.....but I don't know how. I was wondering if anyone to explain to me how. The part that I don't understand is:

(while (setq txtLine(read-line f))

my question is, while what. I'm pretty new at this so I'm sure it's just something I don't know/haven't learnt yet but shouldn't there be an expression to evaluate? Or is it saying "until txtline = nil" essentially?

Edited by KrazyMann225
I can't spell or proof read

Good to see you again... let me take a crack at clarifying the while function for you.

So long as the TestExpression tests as Non-NIL, the subsequent expression(s) will be executed. Once the TestExpression tests as NIL, the While loop is complete and the code moves on to the next line.

Syntax:

(while [color=red]<TestExpression>[/color]
 [color=blue]<Expression>[/color]
 )

Using your code example....

(while [color=red](setq txtLine(read-line f))[/color]
 [color=blue]<Expression>[/color]
 )

Edit: So what your code is doing, is "while" variable txtLine has a value (as a result of the next line being read from the file), something esle is done. This will continue until the end of the file is reached where there are no more lines to read.

For reference:

Evaluates a test expression, and if it is not nil, evaluates other expressions; repeats this process until the test expression evaluates to nil

(while testexpr [expr...])

The while function continues until testexpr is nil.

Arguments

testexpr

The expression containing the test condition.

expr

One or more expressions to be evaluated until testexpr is nil.

Return Values

The most recent value of the last expr.

Edited by BlackBox
Non-NIL

So long as the TestExpression tests as T (True), the subsequent expression will be executed. Once the TextExpression tests as NIL, the While loop is complete and the code moves on to the next line.

Aside: