+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Drawing on Point Clouds

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi ,
    i have a Point Cloud of a location and i would like to "draw" on it, so like when i draw a circle it has the elevation of the point cloud. Is that possible?

    I use AutoCad and AutoCad Civil 3D.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    Post a sample dwg you can get to aeccPoints not sure about point clouds.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    645

    Default

    If you start the polyline command and snap (nod) to the first point, that is the elevation it will get. Use the pointcloud crop tool one or two times to box in what you want to draw.
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    So there's no tool that automatically lets you draw like a circle that gets the full elevation of the point cloud and not just the starting point?

  5. #5
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Not in Autocad out of the box.. Many addons, tricks for triangulation to mesh and sectioning meshes though
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    How do you draw a circle from a pt with full elevation does not make any sense. Please explain. Do you want to draw tubes ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I moved your thread to the Civil 3D & LDD Forum.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Unlock Point clouds
    By Stevet in forum Map 3D
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2011, 10:21 am
  2. Do you use Point Clouds?
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2011, 07:40 am
  3. Point Clouds??
    By INVENTAIRLTD in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th May 2010, 02:25 pm
  4. Point Clouds
    By spittle in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th May 2009, 03:42 pm
  5. Point Clouds
    By spittle in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2008, 10:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts