+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmoor, Devon, UK
    Posts
    234

    Default Point cloud freezes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just to try out point clouds, downloaded latest Acad incl Recap, imported a 5MB architectural .rcp file. Computer freezes - the pc model displays but the loading wheel keeps spinning, no commands, not even mouse works within the Acad window.
    Other programs running continue fine.

    Is it my lowly computer - i3 2120 2-core, 4MB RAM, Quadro FX580? RAM too small?

    I doubt that because the same file in .pod format spins flawlessly in 2009-era 32bit Pointools, but imported to Bentley AECOsim (incl Microstation) loads but rotates only in 1-sec jerks. Strange, as Pointools is the point tools engine within AECOsim.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Personally, I think it could be a combination of low ram (4GB) and the fact your graphics card is entry level at best and it only comes with 512MB of video memory.

    Did you try shutting down all non-essential programs that are running in the background?

    Have you turned off all your OS bells and whistles?

    What else have you done to maximize available resources?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    boxel0's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Custom
    CPU:
    4.0 GHz Intel Core i7-4790
    RAM:
    32gb
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    Solid State
    Monitor:
    3x 22" Dells
    Discipline
    Surveying
    boxel0's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Technical Director
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    I have an extensive background in 3d laser scanning technology, working both out in the field surveying and in the office registering and 3D modelling
    Using
    Plant 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    England, Essex, Chelmsford
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Maybe try downgrading the point cloud within Recap, I find exporting the files from recap as .rcs files better. As the .rcp files are exported with scan locations and images

    Also make sure your 3D snap is off, as your machine might be trying to snap onto every point when its opening

Similar Threads

  1. point cloud
    By Rudbeckia in forum Revit General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29th Dec 2015, 09:55 pm
  2. Slice the point cloud
    By szubinek in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2014, 06:53 am
  3. Lidar and Point Cloud
    By Openantics in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th May 2013, 10:23 am
  4. Point Cloud
    By CNatka in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st May 2012, 04:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts