+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default How to Get pump symbols from Autocad P&ID 2017

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,
    It's my first time using Autocad P&ID, on the attachment it show some block symbols, but i could not find the different type of pump symbols? how can i get that? do i need to upload from external to this software? If i need something on P&ID software how do i search for it. Thank you for all the input for these questions? any good P&ID course that your guys can recommend.
    Last edited by Sengna; 28th Mar 2018 at 05:33 pm.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Pump symbols would most likely be found on the P&ID ISA tool palette. It looks like you have called up the P&ID PIP tool palette instead.

    BTW...you do know that AutoDesk has discontinued AutoCAD P&ID and they no longer offer support or updates don't you? I wouldn't bother trying to find a course for a program that has been discontinued. Try looking for a book over at Amazon as it may be your one last chance for obtaining anything useful.

    Just in case you think I am kidding...

    AutoCAD_PID.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Pump symbols would most likely be found on the P&ID ISA tool palette. It looks like you have called up the P&ID PIP tool palette instead.

    BTW...you do know that AutoDesk has discontinued AutoCAD P&ID and they no longer offer support or updates don't you? I wouldn't bother trying to find a course for a program that has been discontinued. Try looking for a book over at Amazon as it may be your one last chance for obtaining anything useful.

    Just in case you think I am kidding...

    Attachment 63623
    Ok, got you, you are so smart ReMark. i went to tool pallet and under the Equipment it has one pump symbol on there, i wish they have different type of pumps. wow that is disappointed that Autodesk will not continue to develope more on this PID software. I don't know much about Autocad Plant 3D, will they have PID on there?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Yes, AutoCAD Plant comes with a P&ID component.

    Re: Pump symbols. You can create custom symbols for the pumps you typically specify.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Yes, AutoCAD Plant comes with a P&ID component.

    Re: Pump symbols. You can create custom symbols for the pumps you typically specify.
    so can i import block symbols on autocad PID so that my co-worker can use.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Define: import. I mentioned creating your own symbols. I suppose if you have equipment or valve blocks that were created using plain AutoCAD they too could be used. I'm guessing that the symbols that come with AutoCAD P&ID have predefined attributes. Is that correct?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

Similar Threads

  1. The Bricsys 2017 Conference – 25 October 2017
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th Oct 2017, 10:50 am
  2. What's New in AutoCAD 2017 – AutoCAD 2017 Preview Guide
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2016, 12:14 am
  3. Please Help me (Pump)
    By kamig in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2009, 09:28 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts