+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Offset for a callout, Is there a shortcut for this result?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello everybody

    I do drawings that have to have call outs. However, sometimes the call out line crosses with lines of the drawing so every call out line has to have an offset of .025, this way, the line only touches the item im calling.

    Currently, I do an outside offset on the line both ways, then I use trim and cut everything inside. Sometimes my figures have up to 50 call outs and I have to do this process that is very time consuming.

    Is there a way I could to this faster? I thought maybe i could put a blank line below my callout line, that had the width of the offset. Or maybe two blank rectangles that had the space of the line between them. I'm new in AutoCad and I'm having some trouble trying to solve this.

    Note. I copy and paste my drawings to word with paste special Picture (Windows Metafile) so it has to look the same as autocad.

    Example.
    before.PNG
    offset.PNG
    result.PNG
    Last picture is the result I need.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can use a custom leader atyle with a user block containing an attribute for your text. Now, since it is a leader you can have a fixed length or stretchable upon insert leader line with or without an arrowhead, and insert automatic breaks in the leader line for each line that it crosses, after you have inserted and poitioned your callout (leader). Define and save the block with text attribute first, it need only contain the text attribute. Then do the leader set up selecting to make one with a block attached, then select User Block, then browse to the block you previously created. Common drafting practices say that you should NEVER break the lines that make up your drawing objects.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Callout Customization
    By nnutting in forum Revit General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st Jul 2016, 09:09 pm
  2. Dumb Callout
    By addesigns in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2013, 12:46 pm
  3. Section Callout
    By cmlucifer in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2012, 05:50 pm
  4. Callout Dimenstion Twice
    By Mike_Taylor in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2012, 03:19 pm
  5. Callout Lisp
    By Tankman in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 04:00 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts