+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default Dtext and dims text problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am having a problem with my Dtext display, it won't display my figures or text using the Dims Cmd as well as the Dtext. If I try to modify the text, if show the correct value, but shows empty boxes on the screen and printout. This only on a couple of drawings. What did I do wrong? Ty

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Is it possible that you have QTEXT turned on in those couple of drawings?

    How pre-2000 AutoCAD are you and what OS are you running? Just curious.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Ty for your suggestion, I am a old olo Acad R14 using Windows 10. I will ck out the suggestion and will let you know.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    who are you the Police?

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    ReMark, thank you, I am so blind that is what you get when you are as old as I am lol, so simple

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky3d View Post
    who are you the Police?
    Not entirely sure what this was about but if it was in regards to my second question I asked because while I don't have every version of AutoCAD still running on my computer I do have a number of reference books. And it always helps to know what the exact version of AutoCAD a person is running (especially when talking "features"). It is also common knowledge that running older versions of AutoCAD on newer OS's can be problematic. Does that answer your question?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    717

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Not entirely sure what this was about but if it was in regards to my second question I asked because while I don't have every version of AutoCAD still running on my computer I do have a number of reference books. And it always helps to know what the exact version of AutoCAD a person is running (especially when talking "features"). It is also common knowledge that running older versions of AutoCAD on newer OS's can be problematic. Does that answer your question?
    I believe he was referring to your signature. He must not have understood the music reference. I remember qtext coming in handy on a low-end 386 with a math co-processor.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

Similar Threads

  1. Dtext text orientation while typing
    By mstrwill in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Jun 2016, 04:30 pm
  2. Global Text Height Change With Both MText And DText
    By caxtin in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th May 2013, 06:29 am
  3. Routine to JUSTIFY and ALIGN text (DTEXT)...
    By lamensterms in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Oct 2011, 03:46 am
  4. DText not prompting for text rotation angle
    By Tyke in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2011, 09:10 pm
  5. Edit DTEXT Problem
    By gsksun4 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Jul 2009, 01:18 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts