+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default Design Center - New Palette Tab

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I wanted to run this by someone before I go ahead and mess around in design ctr. I researched online about creating palettes and they told me to follow procedure I attached. I just opened tool palette instead and right clicked a tab and created a new tab. I have a folders with blocks. I just drag and drop them in there. When I start a new dwg my palette still has my added tab. Is that procedure ok or do I have to go into design ctr instead. Only way I could make a tab in design ctr was by right clicking on design ctr folder. Then design tab showed. I know its in a sample folder but really do not like messing around in there.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    not sure what happen to attachment. looks pretty bad

  3. #3
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    Upload the full sized image to a site such as IMGUR, then share the link here.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  4. #4
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    picture is not even necessary I was here > C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2018\Sample\en-us\DesignCenter.

    If I right click design center folder and make new palette it makes a new tab on autocads tool palette. I just want to know why not just right click tool palette and make new tab and drag/drop your own dwg and/or blocks into it from your own folder libraries. I know nothing about design center and that whole region. THen I see its stemming from the sample folder. I probably do not even want to be in sample, or do I?

  5. #5
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    autodesk directions were to right click design center folder thats why i ask. Might lead to question 2, should i even pay attention to autodesk knowledge site or utilize these type places

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    If you right click in the tool palette you can create an empty palette which you can then manually populate with whatever content you want to add.

    If you right click on a folder in Design Center you can create a new palette which will automatically contain all the content residing within that folder.

    It just depends on which way you want to go about creating new palettes. https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...4FFBD-htm.html
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Ok, I was just more worried about if it will stay on palette or not. Thinking only way it would stay would be inside autocads folders. Seems like that is not the case.

    thanks

  8. #8
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    I use the right click on the toolpalette usually. With the right click is also the option to customise palettes, which opens another dialogue where you can add palette groups and move and copy tabs between groups. If you are going to be using palettes a lot then it is well worth getting to know.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  9. #9
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default palette2

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    I use the right click on the toolpalette usually. With the right click is also the option to customise palettes, which opens another dialogue where you can add palette groups and move and copy tabs between groups. If you are going to be using palettes a lot then it is well worth getting to know.
    Hopefully,

    We should be in sync. I been using cad for awhile and palettes blew a few people to retirement. I love palettes. However, I have no idea what you are talking about. I just learned that i can just right click for my own tab and add blocks/dwgs. I do not know a palette group. I will research but sometimes well said by insiders!

  10. #10
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I learned that wblocks can get put into palette and inserted and editing them will not edit copies of it. Whereas blocks will change all around, minus if you make it dynamic. I would like more than one block in a dwg so I do not have a dwg for each bock. Not really sure how to approach this. As of now I am just making folders with wblocks saved there of similarity. If I am missing the scope can someone let me know. I try searching internet and keep getting same old answer of block vs wblock.

Similar Threads

  1. Design Center???
    By Honda Matt in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2010, 02:34 pm
  2. Changing colors in Palette Groups or Design Center
    By kingdaddy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 15th May 2009, 08:03 pm
  3. Design Center Has Nothing in it!!!
    By dhfh in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Apr 2009, 03:14 pm
  4. Design Center
    By D7CAD in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th Oct 2007, 10:04 am
  5. design center
    By lulumara in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2006, 11:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts