+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    very high potential i dont really understand the RAM you are talking about. My roomate says 17BG ram is alot. I thought it was just the c:// capacity. Then he got into ROM and all this other stuff so maybe I have no idea. If someone wants to give a brief non computer science approach to this I would be happy to absorb. I remember something years ago about 4 and 8GB of RAM as customary but I guess I did not really care or understand.

    Tnx,

    Brian
    Last edited by bjenk8100; 7th Oct 2017 at 01:22 am. Reason: spelling

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    I do not get your RAM stuff. They do not even sell computers like that. This machine has 918 GB and its 7 years old
    Of course they do. Here's one you can buy off the shelf with 16gb RAM at your local Best Buy. https://www.bestbuy.com/site/alienwa...?skuId=5714687

    I always have my computers custom built though, which is why I have 24gb RAM. My next computer will most likely have 32gb RAM.

    You say you've got 918gb RAM? I think you're mistaken.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #13
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    i dont really understand the RAM you are talking about. My roomate says 17BG ram is alot. I thought it was just the c:// capacity. Then he got into ROM and all this other stuff so maybe I have no idea.
    I think you're confusing RAM with storage space on your hard drive.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #14
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    RAM stands for Random Access Memory. It is the hard physical space available on the memory chips carried on the green plug-in cards that snap into your mother board. It's completely different from the space on your disk drives. The disk drives are where files are stored, including executable program code files. RAM is where the program instructions are actually temporarily stored and executed.

    If the initial loading of the executable program instructions from your hard disk to RAM is SLOW, it's because there is not enough room in RAM. This makes the computer use virtual memory to compensate, which means, the program instructions are written back to the disk drive to a Swap File. This causes lots of reads and writes back and forth from virtual to RAM and back again while the program tries to execute.

    Limited RAM not only slows down the start-up of your program, it slows down execution too.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Found this on the Forbes website in May of this year. I doubt the average CAD tech has the money to duplicate the feat.

    Hewlett Packard Enterprise said it has built the world's largest single-memory computing system in the world consisting of 160 terabytes (1 terabyte equals 1,000 gigabytes). For a point of (albeit unfair) comparison, the latest iPhone 7 only has 2 gigabytes of random-access memory.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Slow startup of autocad 2012 and 2017
    By rock1 in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2017, 07:06 am
  2. AutoCAD 2017 Slow when moving blocks
    By Luis_M in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2017, 03:15 pm
  3. Autocad 2012 seems slow to load and crashes often
    By Abbyjay in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2011, 02:19 am
  4. Slow to load the plot screen
    By uhcafigdc in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 12:55 pm
  5. Slow load dwg
    By SstennizZ in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2008, 11:33 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts