+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default how to get preview of drawing on Autocad when set view on Large or Extra Large Icons

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am using window 7 and Autocad 2016. how can i get the preview of the object inside CAD drawing when i have 10 or more files without open on by one. in the past i was able to see the objects in drawing without open the file, at lease it will give me some idea but i will eventually have to open them. can some one give me some advice, the Autocad icon looks like older CAD version.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,878

    Default

    The change must be made in Windows Explorer. The three choices that will allow you to see the drawing file contents (varies by option) are Medium, Large and Extra Icons.

    Look in the upper right hand corner of the window for the Change Your View icon. The arrow to the right will give you More Options.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The change must be made in Windows Explorer. The three choices that will allow you to see the drawing file contents (varies by option) are Medium, Large and Extra Icons.

    Look in the upper right hand corner of the window for the Change Your View icon. The arrow to the right will give you More Options.
    ReMark, i tried those 3 options from the drop down but it just increase the icons bigger, it didn't show the file contents.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,715

    Default

    It depends also if they are old dwg's they do not have a bitmap image saved. Still pretty average to pick out a dwg form that tiny image.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Sengna
    Does this happen only on your computer?
    Do you see pictures on other computers?
    Software development
    Batch printing drawings from model and printing PDF to different printers
    https://www.kdmsoft.net

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,878

    Default

    I think BIGAL accurately described why the OP is seeing what he is. Easily verified by any competent AutoCAD user.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    826

    Default

    AutoCAD DWG thumbnail preview images do not display in Windows Explorer
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-Explorer.html

    Displaying thumbnail previews of DWG files in Windows Explorer
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-Explorer.html
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maratovich View Post
    Sengna
    Does this happen only on your computer?
    Do you see pictures on other computers?
    Per your comments, i went to check with co worker on the same folder, it showed same as mine as the first attachment i post on the first thread. No contents

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Sengna's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    It depends also if they are old dwg's they do not have a bitmap image saved. Still pretty average to pick out a dwg form that tiny image.
    I m not sure about bitmap, the drawing files were from 1996, would that be the reason?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The image is stored inside the drawing file.
    If it is, it will be shown.
    If the files are old, then there are no images.
    The only solution is to open and save all the files again.
    If you have many files, you need a lisp or program to automatically open and save.
    Attach the original sample file, to check the presence of the image.
    Software development
    Batch printing drawings from model and printing PDF to different printers
    https://www.kdmsoft.net

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble trying to get Large Icons without text
    By woodman78 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Dec 2012, 12:44 pm
  2. CDG Purge - Extra large DWG files
    By frenkas in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2011, 01:36 pm
  3. Make both large and small custom icons the same
    By chelsea1307 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2011, 09:34 pm
  4. Large CAD Drawing to PDF
    By Primal Scientist in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2010, 12:20 pm
  5. where can i get large ribbon icons??
    By Astro in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2009, 11:28 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts