+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    peterg's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    57

    Default how can I get rid of ribbon

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How can I get rid of the ribbon and have the CLASSIC TOOLBAR????
    2018 LT

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    Ribbonclose will get rid of the ribbon ("ribbon" to bring it back)
    menubar = 1 to give you back the menu
    and then find the toolbars you want from the tools section of the menu
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...8693C-htm.html
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,589

    Default

    A quick one type "-toolbars show modify" this opens a toolbar you can open more by clicking on toolbar top left and right button on mouse. Why a new install has none displayed ???
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,565

    Default

    Here is some more info on making toolbars appear: Showing and Hiding AutoCAD Toolbars

    Here is some more info on restoring the classic workspace, that Autodesk removed.

    Lastly, here is even more info on Putting things back to Normal.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I used to go through this every time the new version came out. I hated that ribbon and it seemed Autodesk would make it harder to change back to classic each time.

    Eventually I decided I should get used to it and started to use it, now I actually quite like it.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    814

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikefreeman View Post
    I used to go through this every time the new version came out. I hated that ribbon and it seemed Autodesk would make it harder to change back to classic each time.

    Eventually I decided I should get used to it and started to use it, now I actually quite like it.
    Haven't had the old drop-down menus or toolbars displayed since they added full support for the Ribbon in Civil 3D 2011. Customization is trickier now than it was with the old mnu files, but worth the wow in functionality.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

Similar Threads

  1. Ribbon looks different
    By The Nickster in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2012, 08:09 pm
  2. help with ribbon
    By tom_balmer in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2010, 01:58 pm
  3. Help with Ribbon
    By Scott44 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2009, 12:35 am
  4. Ribbon
    By JONTHEPOPE in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2009, 08:16 pm
  5. Matt Stein (aka Ribbon Man) on the AutoCAD 2009 Ribbon
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2008, 03:20 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts