+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member Niz's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default Importing coordinates from Excel

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello everyone
    I want to import an Excel file´s (.xls) coordinate information (X,Y) into Auto CAD as geometry - one point for every X,Y.
    I need to draw a profile grade - I have 123 points for one profile grade and i am trying to find easier way of drawing it then just drawing point by point
    How do I do that?
    (I use AutoCAD 2007, Excel 2003 )
    Thank you all in advance

  2. #2
    LElkins
    Guest

    Default

    check this out, see if it is what you are after.

    http://management.cadalyst.com/cadma.../detail/101138

  3. #3
    Junior Member Niz's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default

    from what i see it is
    i will go to try it on and give you feedback later
    thanx a bunch

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,302

    Default

    You can also scroll to the bottom of this page and check out the "Similar Threads" and do a search on here. This topic has been covered many times.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Junior Member Niz's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Little update
    I tried with scripts but i guess as beginner it is still hard for me to make it happen..so i searched for some help on web and i saw this page
    http://www.glamsen.se/CadTools.htm
    it is free utility and it has many features ..one to import coordinates and get Polyline
    Hope someone will have use of this as i did

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I just download and install the program, but everytime i hit the command button, it says "AutoCad is not running, or wrong version!" Why? I'm using AutoCad 2007

    tq

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by azman View Post
    I just download and install the program, but everytime i hit the command button, it says "AutoCad is not running, or wrong version!" Why? I'm using AutoCad 2007

    tq
    look in the CadTools Settings, there's a dropdown list with cad versions. Select Autocad 2007.

    If not working, send a email to the developer (me)

    Regards Lars

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    longcrier's Computer Details
    Monitor:
    Dual 21"
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    12

    Default Tips on Micheal method

    I used the method from the "Odd Spot" to create several stream cross-sections and these are some tips I picked up along the way.

    1. don't put the x and y coordinates in the same cell in excell, it's easier and there is less chance of transposing number and such if you copy the two columns (X and Y) into note pad then remove the tab spaces and add commas

    2. If you format your cells in excell to have the same number of decimal places the process goes really fast once you are in notepad

    3. The polyline comes in on the current layer, maybe this is obvious but it helped me make sure I knew which x-sections were which

    It's all about caditude.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Importing Excel data to AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, i currently have a layout of the building in AutoCAD 2010 and i have some data in the excel file.

    Excel files consists of unique #s for different location in the AutoCAD layout. Each number is assosiated with the location in layout. Each location gets tested everyday day and according to the result if its positive or negative i make a green/red circle in the AutoCAD layout.

    Now what i was wondering is if it possible for me to somehow connect the excel file to the AutoCAD layout so when i put in the result (positive or Negative) it would automatically make a either a green or red circle in the layout. Any help or suggestion is much appreciated.
    Last edited by vickwarya; 26th Mar 2010 at 02:32 pm. Reason: didn't want to show name

Similar Threads

  1. importing excel into autocad (ole)?
    By dmomeyer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2011, 10:37 pm
  2. Coordinates from Excel to AutoCAD
    By TheStig in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2010, 03:40 pm
  3. Importing Excel into Autocad?
    By Element63 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2010, 05:44 am
  4. Importing Excel Spreadsheets????
    By maze in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2007, 11:57 am
  5. coordinates ( dimensions) to excel
    By louislbernstein in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 14th Aug 2007, 06:57 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts