+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default copy option inconsistent

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Will someone please tell me why after a sketch entity is made and I want to duplicate it maybe several times along a row, that a right click in the drawing area does not always offer the option of copy or move entities? Is there a particular mode that I need to be in?
    Also, the help files state that an array tool is available, which I find invaluable in Autocad, can someone give me a clue as to how to activate the tool in solidworks? I am using Solidworks 2007 if it makes a difference.
    Thanking you,
    Regina

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    OK, I have figured out that there is no "Array" tool in Solidworks,as such, certainly not one like that which is in Autocad, even though the word is mentioned in the help files as such. The writers of the help file use the word generically, and the tools that do the arraying, (if there is such a word) are Linear and Circular pattern, which are used to "array" features, such as extrusions, and not sketches.
    That being said, what I need most to learn is the copy and move command. The help files are as always very general, and not written, (I don't believe) to help one fine tune the tools. If someone could clue me in on the secret to copying a sketch many times along a straight line to accurate dimensions, I would be most grateful. It seems that the X and Y directions cause the sketch to jump off direction and distort the shape of the sketch along with it, even though I entered a small amount of move, say .005".
    I really would appreciate any information on these tools that I could get. If there exists a tutorial on this anywhere, I would appreciate knowing where I could get it.
    Thanks again,
    Regina

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Array (Pattern) tools for Sketch entities

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The array (Pattern) tools (Linear, Circular) are kept in…..Tools (Menu) > Sketch tools > Linear Pattern (or) Circular Pattern. We can access them only if a sketch is active. The tool buttons are also kept in sketch tool bar. If the tool buttons are not available we can make them added with the sketch tool bar By….. Tools (Menu) > Customize > Commands > Sketch > Buttons > dragging and dropping the required tool button to Sketch tool Bar.

    We can only array (pattern) the entities (Line, Arc, etc.,) of a sketch, with in the same sketch. We can’t pattern a whole sketch.

Similar Threads

  1. txt option
    By amounjid in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2008, 06:32 pm
  2. Inconsistent Commands
    By Arch_Eric in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th May 2008, 04:30 pm
  3. solid subtraction problem inconsistent face
    By leo55 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2007, 01:44 am
  4. Error: Inconsistent containment on coincident face_face_ints
    By deepdarkko in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2005, 02:53 am
  5. "Inconsistent face-body relationships" - Subtracti
    By wilked in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th May 2005, 06:38 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts