Access A Drawings File Properties From Another Drawing

nunleym

I am new to vba and i am trying to extract a drawings file properties (without opening it) from an open drawing. Is there a way to do this?

thanks,

mike

I am new to vba and i am trying to extract a drawings file properties (without opening it) from an open drawing. Is there a way to do this?

thanks,

mike

Could you be more specific?? Do you mean entity properties, or drawing properties such as Layers, Styles, etc?

I am new to vba and i am trying to extract a drawings file properties (without opening it) from an open drawing.

You can to use ObjectDBX interface. For example function (without any error prevention!) to read document comments without document opening in AutoCAD (type something in Drawing Properties...>Summary Tab>Comments).

Function Get_Drawing_Info(Drawing As String)

Dim Acad As Object
  Dim dbxDoc As Object
  Dim dInfo As AcadSummaryInfo

Set Acad = ThisDrawing.Application
  Set dbxDoc = Acad.GetInterfaceObject("ObjectDBX.AxDbDocument.17")

dbxDoc.Open (Drawing)
  Set dInfo = dbxDoc.SummaryInfo

MsgBox "This is doc info: " & dInfo.Comments

Set dInfo = Nothing
  Set dbxDoc = Nothing
  Set Acad = Nothing

End Function

Test for "Drawing1.dwg".

Sub Test()
   Get_Drawing_Info ("C:\Documents and Settings\Alexander\My Documents\Drawing1.dwg")
  End Sub

With ObjectDBX you can access to all drawing database objects without drawing opening.

Well, actually, you cant read anything out of any document without opening it with some application or other. Whether its a windows .dll,

ObjectDBX, or .tlb in VB to read the structured storage (which is the part of the document that stores the extended file properties), there has to be code to open the file.

Im not talking about the basic info, which is/can be stored in the file system, but the application specific info.

> rocheey