assembly constraints not valid in dynamic simulation??

olive green

Hi..i'm quite new to inventor and using inventor 2009 trial version..

when i'm starting my dynamic simulation for a given mobile component ..all the assembly constraints applied on that component previously - like angle constraints - are getting lost... if it is the general case than how to avoid this??

further can someone provide some tutorials dedicated to dynamic simulation explaining the theory of joints in inventor..

thanx for ur help

The first time you open dynamic simulation a box should(or should have) popped up asking if you would like a tutorial. If not the help menu has a few tutorials for you.

In dynamic simulation any driven constraints will need to be redone. Things like coincident and concentric constraints(which allow movement but dont drive it) will be vaild. When you are in the Dynamic Simulation you will be able to Insert Joint. This is where you will find all the "constraints". The screen shot is IV11. 2009 and 2010 look a little different but the content is the same. There is an animation with each joint that shows you the selection process. There is also a ? at the bottom corner which will take you to your help. After you create these joints you are able to edit their parameters like degrees of freedom and distance. The is one joint called Spatial that is a free for all. It allows you to tell it which of the 6 degrees of freedom to enable and how to handle them. I would only use this if none of the other joints will work.

DynamicSim.jpg