+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default Font file is not on the list

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When I used Style command and try to find font called OUTLINE but I didn't see that name on the list. I put that font file at the location in Support File Search Path. Anyone knows how to solve this problem? Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    As a test I copied Simplex.shx and renamed it TestFont.shx then placed it in C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2009\Fonts. I opened AutoCAD, typed in Style at the command line. This brought up the Text Style dialog box. I checked under Font Name, found the file and set it as Current. Not sure what you might be doing differently.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Just a note. I also tested a fake font style. I opened Notepad, wrote two lines of nonsense and saved it as BogusText.shx. I followed the same steps as mentioned above. Guess what? AutoCAD apparently did not recognize it as a legitimate shx file and refused to list it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    this problem on one computer. I tried everything and that computer still have the same problem. I even had AutoCAD reinstalled, but the problem never goes away.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Have you verified the path? Are your font files stored on a network drive?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Yes I have and the font files stored on a network drive. I tried your theory (copy and rename) it doesn't work for me. I will restart the computer to see if it will work or not.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    578

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Just a note. I also tested a fake font style. I opened Notepad, wrote two lines of nonsense and saved it as BogusText.shx. I followed the same steps as mentioned above. Guess what? AutoCAD apparently did not recognize it as a legitimate shx file and refused to list it.

    I have had similar problems with SHX type text.

    But, Iffn' you go back some in the M-S handbook it mentions to limit file names to EIGHT characters, not NINE as you have noted. Shorten up the file type name and see if it can't then be found.

    Yes, you can use long honking titles to files, but that don't mean Acad will find them either.



    Wm.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Coos:

    I don't think that applies any longer. A search of the Fonts folder for 2009 lists these two files: AMDTsymbols.shx and @extfont2.shx. Both exceed the eight characters you mention. I also encountered non-AutoCAD fonts with names longer than eight characters.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I tried on my computer I have no problem. Just like I said before, only that one computer. I don't know how to fix it anymore. I reinstalled AutoCAD, but it didn't solve the problem. I know the fonts file is in the search path, in document/setting support, and also in Program files/AutoCad 2008. Where else should I put that font? Should I give up?

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    One computer can't find the file either on the network or on the hard drive? That's just weird. If the problem were confined to the network then I would say it is an error in the path statement. But the path to the hard drive is usually established by AutoCAD when the program is installed. It is pretty much a standard location.

    I'm stumped. You've put the file in all the correct "normal" locations. Short of placing the file in the working directory of the drawings themselves I cannot think of another folder that would make any sense.

    How is this computer different from all the others used in the office for CAD besides this one quirk? It's like it has a mental block when it comes to seeing this font file.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing the font File
    By Olhado_ in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2009, 03:29 pm
  2. Text Font File
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2007, 01:41 pm
  3. Pen asignment & Font style file
    By remirates in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2005, 06:19 am
  4. Font file CVSPRO.SHX
    By JimWebster in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2005, 08:16 pm
  5. font list
    By megapod in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2005, 09:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts