+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default how do I import jpeg drawing to autocad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hey first of all thanks for the support being given.
    I have an plan drawing in jpeg.
    I need to make some changes in it.
    how can i convert it into Autocad dwg file
    please help me out.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    22

    Default

    a quick solution which i use often (maybe you can find other better solutions in this forum)

    first convert yoru jpeg to pdf then use aide pdf-dxf converter
    you can find demo of this in internet

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    Converting a jpg to a pdf and then converting the pdf to a dwg file sounds like a receipe for disaster if you ask me. I've had less than satisfactory results just converting from pdf to dwg.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    *.pdf converter, pdf2cad, I use on occasion. The converter converts the *.pdf to *.dxf. As ReMark states, "less than satisfactory results".

    Why not just insert the *.jpg image?

    Welcome to the forums! Where are you posting from?
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    Tankman: I was thinking the same thing at first. However, the OP wants to make some changes to the image.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thanks a lot for all ur suggestions.
    i will try it out.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by sudhaathreya View Post
    hey first of all thanks for the support being given.
    I have an plan drawing in jpeg.
    I need to make some changes in it.
    how can i convert it into Autocad dwg file
    please help me out.

    Just copy the image and paste in AutoCAD. Thats all. It works for me in AutoCAD 2008.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,065

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AJAY View Post
    Just copy the image and paste in AutoCAD. Thats all. It works for me in AutoCAD 2008.
    And how do you make changes to it once you copy and paste it?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Senior Member Geobuilder's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Geobuilder's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Corel(TM) i7 860 @ 2.80GHz 2.80 GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB DDR2
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.1)
    Monitor:
    22 "
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Russia, Siberia
    Posts
    207

    Default

    sudhaathreya, If you show a picture to us, and will describe that particularly it is necessary for you to change, only then you will receive true and an irrefragable answer

  10. #10
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    An image would need to be "touched up" in any photo editor.

    A *.pdf converted to a .*dxf file can be opened and edited using AutoCAD.
    However, as ReMark notes (and I agree), results are less than satisfactory.

    I always wind up redrawing and trashing the "junque" from the conversion.

    As Geobuilder said, "If you show a picture to us..........."
    That would be a BIG help.

    I pefer to insert the image into AutoCAD, scale the image, send the image to the back (draworder), turn off the frame, trace 'n then remove the image. Tracing over I usually use a color that I can see well; i.e.: red on white.

    I often edit the image before inserting into the *.dwg.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

Similar Threads

  1. jpeg to drawing
    By kd in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2012, 03:28 pm
  2. Import a JPEG into AutoCAD LT
    By Krisoula in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2011, 07:52 am
  3. Convert/Import Jpeg image to DWG file.
    By kris69 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2009, 03:58 pm
  4. JPEG in Drawing
    By md2lgyk in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2008, 04:50 pm
  5. Cannot import jpeg
    By abmacomber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2008, 03:43 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts