solid making compound miter cuts

sagaro

hello, i am somewhat new to using compound miter cuts.. and i am tryign to draft my struts for a geodesic dome.. in any case

i am not use to the language you use, so i will explain best i can

i have drawn a line, 4feet long. it is 2 inches wide and 6inches high. at the ends, i had to make a miter cut lets say 35 deg. so now i end up with a polygon, and on top view, it has one end longer than the other and the miter cut can clearly be seen.

now when i draw this in 3d, i use lines to get a rough outline of my shape.

i then switch to a side view, and draw the angle of my bevel cut. the bevel cut is along the 6" portion...

now at the end of all this i end up with a somewhat complicated shape of 2 polygons, one on the top and the other on the bottom. and to join them, is a bevel angle...

i am having difficulty making this shape into a solid.. if i make a face on the bottom side and extrude it, it wont line up to the top, and if i go vice versa, it wont line up either, i try to taper, but i get a tape on all sides.. i dont want a taper on all sides, this taper is just like a bevel cut, but not exactly what i need... the bevel cut is only at the ends of the strut.

if anyone could help me by explaining hwo to draw a solid using the lines i have drawn it would be beneficial.

basically what i ask, is if i have a 3d shape outlined with lines.. hwo can i make a solid which fills that shape?

ok so, i have tried the taper option, but it doesnt seem to work very well... it is true i can get the outisde faces to sortof match up to the bevel angle, but it is not exact...

so since i know the height is 6", i select the top polygon face.

i make a 3d face on it, so i am good there..

i then select to extrude face and i extrude it -6", because i knwo the bottom face will be smaller than the top one because of the bevel cut.

so now i have a solid, that needs the bevel, so i go into my solid edit menu, and select taper face..