delta lengthen

mbdoyle

Hi guys, as I'm pretty new to autolisp I was wondering if anybody could quickly show me a way to do the following:

run a lisp or macro that would allow me to pick a bunch of lines, then enter a distance and lengthen these lines ON BOTH SIDES by that distance.

I'm guessing this wouldn't be a challenge for a lot of you as I have seen some pretty impressive code written in these forums

thanks

matt :)

Maybe something like this...

(defun c:TEst (/ #SS #Dist)
 (vl-load-com)
 (and (setq #SS (ssget "_:L" '((0 . "LINE,LWPOLYLINE"))))
      (setq #Dist (getdist "\nSpecify length: "))
      (foreach x (vl-remove-if 'listp (mapcar 'cadr (ssnamex #SS)))
        (vl-cmdf "_.lengthen"
                 "_delta"
                 #Dist
                 (list x (vlax-curve-getendpoint x))
                 (list x (vlax-curve-getstartpoint x))
                 ""
        ) ;_ vl-cmdf
      ) ;_ foreach
 ) ;_ and
 (princ)
) ;_ defun

That works perfectly, thank you very much alanjt!:)

matt

No problem. I'm not one to give you the fish, but for such a simple question, it's just better to start with the routine. Be sure to go though it so you can understand it; I don't mind answering questions.

So I've been looking at the code for this lisp and I'm having some trouble with the vlisp @ the following lines:

1: (foreach x (vl-remove-if 'listp (mapcar 'cadr (ssnamex #SS))) :?

2: (list x (vlax-curve-getendpoint x))

3: (list x (vlax-curve-getstartpoint x))

Maybe I could get some clarification? Especially with that first line. Thank you very much.

Matt

For Question 1:

• ssnamex returns how each entity in the selection set was created. In this list, all entities are located within sublists.
  • mapcar goes through a given list and performs a specific function on each item and returning a newly processed list.
  • cadr extracts the second item in a list. (mapcar 'cadr #List) will extract the second item in each sublist within #List