How do i seperate elements after subtracting?

123kika321

Hi,

I am new to CADTutor, I joined as I need help with a model I am working on. I cope pretty well with AutoCAD though I have tried to find a solution to this problem so many times that i gave up and thought id ask myself.

I am working on an interior of a space and its all built up in 3D though the space has got arched roofing, i created that by subtracting cylinders from a rectangle, no problem. Though, i then placed the roof above the whole space and went to subtract all elements i have which needed to take the arched form and subtracted the roof from them, it worked fine though now all 57 elements which i subtracted the roof from are recognized as one whole element and I need to work on individual bits of these.

If i explode the elements themselves seem to no longer remain as solids but convert to faces. Does anyone know how i can simply separate them but keep them as solids?

Thank you!!

Depends on how you did it but solidedit separate might be one solution (I suspect will not work on your problem as this is for disjointed solids). Perhaps Split with plane or surface.

Do not Explode.

Autocad will union separate elements when you select multiple solids for subtraction as you have found. Unfortunately the defining geometry is also gone so "SEPARATE" probably wont work either.

You will either have to do the subtraction separately for each or what I would do is use a surface and slice them which would keep them separate.

KC

sold edit, separate seems to not be doing anything so guess its not the solution, if there even is any. I have already done the subtraction and cant go back now as have saved and re-opened since. I am going to import the file into 3D Stdio Max so i guess i will just detach the elements individually from there. Thank you for your help though!! next time i will subtract them indiviudally :)

Thanks again!!!