Auto-edit (LISP>) Title Block Attributes

bennn

Hello,

I am fairly new to Autocad (

I have a large amount of dwgs that need their title block updated. This title block update would consist of finding and replacing text on the title block. Each dwg file has multiple layouts.

I have looked at find&replace lisps, but cannot find any that support multiple layouts. I am also still struggling with running said lisps. I have copied code into notepad, saved it as a .lsp, loaded into autocad (2010), and sometimes succeeded in running the lisp via the command line. Often, I feel I am not typing the correct command. From what I have learned, you find the command by looking at the text that directly follows "C:"

Again, I am not at all experienced in using LISPS and hope that someone can help me out. I am very eager to learn and have spent time researching, but could obviously use a hand.

Thanks in advance,

Ben

What your asking is quite a task for a LISP routine. There are several here that can possibly accomplish this but it will require a lot of work so I seriously doubt you will find what your looking for.

Do you happen to use the Sheet Set Manager? If so this task can be easily accomplished with it. It will take some time to setup the fields for each text in the title block but once it is done making future changes takes place in the sheet set manager.

My first idea to solve this problem was to use sheet set manager, but I was under the impression it was more geared at file structure and sorting, than it was at editing and making changes. Perhaps I should look into sheet set manager a bit more.

Thanks for your input.

After review of my initial reply I must add that I am quite sure Lee Mac (and some others that I don't know if off the top) can make a lisp to do this. It also might not be as complicated as I think because I am going off of my limited knowledge of lisp. We have some very talented members here for certain.