+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Clearance checking?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello gang,

    Quick question of which I think I already know the answer to:

    Is there a way to check clearances between 2 3D solids in Autocad?

    Thanks.


    Jason

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    You want to see if they collide? Try using the Interfere command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You want to see if they collide? Try using the Interfere command.
    No the objects im checking have to have a minimum clearance of 18 inches. the surfaces are not coplanar and are also at different elevations and angles so its not always east to see what edge of these objects are "closest" in relation to one another.

    hoping for a cmd that would find that point automatically and list the distance from one another.

    Jason

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Sorry...can't help you there. I use "cheaters" (i.e. - little line segments) attached to critical points and do a "list" on them. I'm sure there is a better way and someone will soon come by and educate us both.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hope so!

    anyone else know if this can be done?

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    It appears we have a lack of viable solutions at the moment. Let's get this thread back in the limelight and see if it attracts any attention. ***BUMP***
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Try to perform some SECTIONs along those objects - this may help in some case; depends of their geometry.

    Regards,

  8. #8
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'm sure there is a better way and someone will soon come by and educate us both.
    Autodesk Inventor Minimum Distance.

    Might check free Inventor Fusion http://labs.autodesk.com and see if it has the tool as well.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by JD Mather; 4th Jun 2010 at 08:15 pm. Reason: see if it attracts any attention
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

Similar Threads

  1. Checking a drawing for Attributes
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 07:34 pm
  2. Region checking
    By AcmeMan in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2006, 10:40 am
  3. checking the polylines
    By vivekgrs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2006, 05:12 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts