+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default Command Alias being Superseded

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    Our firm has a custom program running along with our AutoCad 2008. The programmer has included the default commands along with his cutom commands within his program.

    Problem is, none of my custom shortcuts from the Command Alias Editor work. Is there anyway to give my .pgp file first preference. So far I've been able to work around it by making new aliases that do not conflict with the default aliases nor the ones in his program. Which rules out 1 letter aliases since those are all taken.

    Cad manager here does not want to discuss this with the programmer because he finds my need for this insignificant.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    The command names (aliases) defined in lisp routines (i.e. defun c:commandname) take precedence

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Tharwat's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Tharwat's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    MEP AutoCAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    HVAC, Drainage, Water Supply, Fire Fighting and Electrical.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Lives in Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    3,454

    Default

    Actually since the programmer changed your .pgp file, which means that you have to re-create your won abbreviations onec again. and it does not
    tanke that much time. And it is better idea to keep a copy of your .pgp file aside after making the changes of the file.

    Tharwat

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    What is the current "path" to the acad.pgp file that is being loaded?

    I'm assuming you have a copy of your own acad.pgp file available right? Do you currently have a defined "path" to the folder containing your custom pgp file included in Tools > Options > Files?

    I was always under the impression there were at least two acad.pgp files (standalone system) and perhaps more, on a networked system, and that the last one loaded was the one that got used.
    Last edited by ReMark; 22nd Jul 2010 at 06:34 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-3770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,832

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamathi View Post
    Hi all,

    Our firm has a custom program running along with our AutoCad 2008. The programmer has included the default commands along with his cutom commands within his program.

    Problem is, none of my custom shortcuts from the Command Alias Editor work. Is there anyway to give my .pgp file first preference. So far I've been able to work around it by making new aliases that do not conflict with the default aliases nor the ones in his program. Which rules out 1 letter aliases since those are all taken.

    Cad manager here does not want to discuss this with the programmer because he finds my need for this insignificant.

    Any ideas?
    A) Is there any way to disable the shortcuts defined by the custom program. A well built application will include this option.

    B) As lpseifert mentioned, lisp functions always win over pgp shortcuts.

    C) As a last resort, give up on the pgp file and put lisp defined shortcuts in "acaddoc.lsp" or "your_custom_menu.mnl" Here is the loading order of startup files, to which you may need to refer in your situation.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Tharwat's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Tharwat's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    MEP AutoCAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    HVAC, Drainage, Water Supply, Fire Fighting and Electrical.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Lives in Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    3,454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    What is the current "path" to the acad.pgp file that is currently being loaded?

    I'm assuming you have a copy of your own acad.pgp file available right? Do you currently have a defined "path" to the folder containing your custom pgp file included in Tools > Options > Files?

    I was always under the impression there were at least two acad.pgp files (standalone system) and perhaps more, on a networked system, and that the last one loaded was the one that got used.
    The path is ; TOOLS -> CUSTOMIZE -> EDIT PROGRAM PARAMETERS

    Regards

    Tharwat

  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-3770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,832

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tharwat313 View Post
    The path is ; TOOLS -> CUSTOMIZE -> EDIT PROGRAM PARAMETERS
    No, he means where is your PGP file located, the one that AutoCAD is reading...

    To find out, paste this at the AutoCAD command line: (findfile "Acad.pgp")

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Some quick answers, the prommer did not modify my .pgp file, it is still the same.

    The program doesn't have a disable to it, only way is to deallocate the files loading but that would cause huge issues.

    It makes sense that the lisp supersedes the .pgp

    I will look into making the lisp that has my shorcuts in it as mentioned by rkmcswain..... Just don't know how

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by jamathi View Post

    I will look into making the lisp that has my shorcuts in it as mentioned by rkmcswain..... Just don't know how
    Here is a portion of my acaddoc.lsp file to give you an idea... the file can be created with Notepad- save as acaddoc.lsp somewhere in acad's support path.
    the letters after (defun c: will be the 'shortcut'
    Code:
    (defun c:ue ()(command "ucs" "e"))
    (defun c:ul ()(command "ucs" "e" "l"))
    (defun c:uw ()(command "ucs" "w"))
    (defun c:uv ()(command "ucs" "v"))
    (defun c:up ()(command "ucs" "p"))
    
    (defun c:w ()(command "zoom" "w"))
    (defun c:p ()(command "zoom" "p"))
    (defun c:ze ()(command "zoom" "e"))
    (defun c:zo ()(command "zoom" "o"))
    (defun C:A ()( COMMAND "ZOOM" "E" "Zoom" "0.99x")(princ)) 
    
    (defun C:RZ ()( COMMAND "UCS" "Z" "90"))
    (defun c:rx ()(command "ucs" "x" "90"))
    (defun c:ry ()(command "ucs" "y" "90"))
    
    (defun C:AO ()( COMMAND "AREA" "O" ))
    (defun C:AOL ()( COMMAND "AREA" "O" "L" ))
    
    (DEFUN C:W1 ()(COMMAND"WIPEOUT" "F" "ON"))
    (DEFUN C:W0 ()(COMMAND"WIPEOUT" "F" "OFF"))
    
    (defun c:lt() (command "_lengthen" "T"))
    (defun c:ld() (command "_lengthen" "DE"))
    (defun c:ldy () (command "_lengthen" "dy"))
    
    (defun c: s() (command "stretch" "C"))
    
    (defun c:c2 () (command "circle" "2P"))
    (defun c:ct () (command "circle" "t"))

Similar Threads

  1. LISP to Copy Current DWG to Superseded Folder
    By cleasc in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2012, 09:56 pm
  2. 2 Step Command Alias in PGP File
    By EVGA Buzzer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2010, 07:24 pm
  3. Becoming a Keyboard Warrior – The Command Alias Editor
    By The CAD Geek Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th May 2009, 10:10 am
  4. Alias for New Command
    By arm54 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2008, 10:35 pm
  5. Tutorial: Create a command alias (keyboard shortcut)
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2007, 12:11 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts