+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member eddie57's Avatar
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    17

    Cool New PC- what do I need to run AutoCAD Architectural?

    Can someone with knowledge on this please give me some input? I am buying a new computer and would like to know how much Ram and what type of video card I need to have AutoCAD to run effectively. I really don't know but would 4GB of RAM be sufficient? What about a 256MB Video Card, would that be adequate? Any input is appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

    Eddie
    Eddie

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,308

    Default

    Are we talking about full AutoCAD or AutoCAD LT?

    What other programs will be running on this computer?

    Will you be doing some gaming on this computer as well?

    What is your budget? $600? $1500? $2000 and up?

    Have you checked out what the minimum specifications for running AutoCAD/AutoCAD LT are at the AutoDesk website? You really should.

    -My recommendation is to buy for the future meaning get a 64-bit system not a 32-bit system.
    -Make your OS (operating system) Windows 7. The Home Premium edition should be fine but serious users might consider the Professional version.
    -4GB of the fastest RAM the motherboard can support should be the base configuration. If your budget can afford it then boost this to 8GB.
    -A 256MB or 512MB graphics card would be sufficient. If you're going to be using this computer mainly for AutoCAD consider an ATI FireGL card or an nVidia Quadro card.
    -The hard drive should have a minimum speed of 7200 rpm. Don't get a 5400 rpm hard drive (too slow).

    Are you buying this new rig or assembling it yourself?

    Will you be buying a new monitor too?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  3. #3
    Junior Member eddie57's Avatar
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default Thanks

    It will be full version of AutoCAD. The only other program I will be using will be Microsoft Office. Not into the games stuff. I will probably use my current monitor as it relatively new and of decent size (LCD). My budget is $1,500.00. If I can buy the 64 bit within my budget I will go for it. Not versatile enough to build my own PC but I sure would like to learn some day. Maybe my second career. Thanks for the reply and all your suggestions. Have a great weekend!
    Eddie

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Im using a core i5 system with 8gb 1600mhz ram with a nvidia 460gtx. Set me back £700 and £300 for my monitor which is an asus 23.6inch 120hz. Dont seem to lag or have slow downs when i open mega complex 3d models.

Similar Threads

  1. autocad architectural 2008
    By mafioso in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2008, 02:03 am
  2. Architectural Desktop = AutoCAD?
    By rwilson1206 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2008, 03:35 am
  3. AutoCAD Text for Architectural Drawings
    By steepcreeker in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2007, 09:51 pm
  4. Add on for Autocad (architectural)
    By James in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2006, 05:54 pm
  5. Architectural Desktop to Autocad
    By maquette in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2005, 01:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts