+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Unhappy Can't edit anything...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I just got these messages:

    "The apperance of this object is not controlled by the display system"..

    "This object is an xref and is not editable through the display tab. Use the context menu to acces the object display properties for the xref".

    I can't use my delete button, I can't copy, move, edit blocks etc.

    What has happened and how do i change my Acad back to normal??

    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Its not a block judging from the message, it's an x-ref. And an X-ref you can't edit in the same way, it is its own file somwhere. Bring up the External Reference manager and find the search path for it.

    Oh, and please don't double post.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Thanks for the quick answer and sorry for the double post...

    I'm fully aware on how to manage xrefs but my real problem is the other things about not being able to edit anything. Just thought that someone maybe had seen these messages before. The actual problem is not really concerning xrefs. All my normal keyboard shortcuts doesn't seem to work. I can't even edit any text. Think i'll try to reinstall...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Aha, its a command problem.
    If you type the command as _.move (with _ and dot) does it work then?
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Yep that works. I can also select the object, press M "enter", but then it wants me to select the object a second time and press enter again. And finally it won't snap to anything. not even the object itself.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    try changing the variable PICKFIRST to 1
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

    It works!!!! Thank you so much, was just about to go completely mental...

    But how come it works. Can you explain what the command does??

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    PICKFIRST is a variable that controls wheter you can select objects before you input a command or have to select them after.

    It is fairly common that the variable is changed by poorly-written lisps.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,481

    Default

    Using poorly written code is an offense punishable by a good smack upside the head. Get ready because one is coming your way.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks to all...

    I have another question though... It's taking really long to plot and undo... do you know why that is??

    When I open a drawing it says: "the following shortcuts in the search were invalid and ignored; X:\Acad\plot styles\Add-A-Plot Style Table Wizard.lnk

Similar Threads

  1. att edit help
    By daveyboyd in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2010, 03:57 pm
  2. Cannot edit!!!
    By slowsilver! in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2010, 07:41 pm
  3. Edit DWF
    By Fire Alarm in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2009, 02:29 pm
  4. edit ground in view edit corridor sections
    By ikapo in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2009, 10:24 am
  5. 3D Edit
    By Aravinthan in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 7th Nov 2007, 11:16 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts