Visual Studio | Express vs. Professional

BlackBox

I am a LISP developer seeking to break into the .NET API with our C3D 2011 implementation.

Can Visual Studio (VS) Express be used by an enterprise, or is it for individuals only?

Any/all software created will be for internal, enterprise use only, and not be sold.

Cheers! :beer:

Edited by BlackBox

While I would like to further my education eventually, I am asking as a professional (worker, not developer - lol).

My employer doesn't have a programming business unit, but there are a small handful of us 'production guys' who fancy programming with LISP. Basic stuff really, production tools, standards enforcement, most of it tailored for our environment.

I'm a huge fan of the ActiveX COM API (via Visual LISP), but have relegated myself to using VLIDE as VB.NET was replacing (has replaced?) VBA. I didn't see spending time learning VBAIDE productive if ultimately I wanted to step into Visual Studio.

Is it possible for you to answer the question of can VS Express be used professionally?

Cheers!

Any/all software created will be for internal, enterprise use only, and not be sold.

While I haven't read the EULA for Express, that statement is what I’ve been lead to believe. To me, it implies that money can be made from programming with Express, but only as it saves money by increasing productivity within an enterprise (i.e., a professional programmer could be utilized by an Enterprise to develop with Express). Professional Edition would be the first legal way to write VS programs to sell as the end product.

There used to be a Standard Edition [thru VS2008], which was a reasonably priced version that allow software sales. I was able to make use of a nice upgrade offer 2008 Standard to 2010 Professional for $299.

Seant, thanks for the information.

I was able to find this on the Visual Studio Express FAQ site:

Can I use Express Edition for commercial use?