Totally green & new to this.................'puter question.

Tom Nikitas

icon1.gif Super Noob here........need to upgrade the 'puter for AutoCAD 2011

Are there any packages that would be recommendable? I've been using a local shop for my last three over the last 10 years. But only doing it every 3-4 years, I don't have a sense of the market/bang for the buck. My last upgrade was 3 years ago.....new mb, processor and some ram but do NOT remember what it was and the records at the shop do not reflect all of the last upgrade - just checked today.

Also, would it be better to wait for something that would handle SolidWorks or Inventor until I get my 2nd through 4th BASIC classes under my belt? With the technology advancing as it does, I'm thiniking I could put out my $$ for a Lambo now but not be able to learn to drive it for a year or two and by then it would be old and slow.......if they EVER made a slow Lambo - heh heh.

I have to warn you, type s l o w l y as I'm heading for geezerdom and I don't hear as quickly as I used to
;)

What's your budget?

For Solidworks and Inventor I might spec something like the following:

Intel i7 Quad Core

Windows 7 64-bit

4-8GB of RAM

500GB HD 7200 rpm

nVidia Quadro or ATI FirePro GL graphics card

24" wide screen LCD monitor

However, you should also check the AutoDesk website. Minimum system requirements are posted for each program. You could just as easily meet those specs and save a few dollars. Just remember...they are the minimum system requirements. I like to go above and beyond because I know I'll be running other software concurrently and I want to still be using the same computer 3 years from now.

If you want more particulars look at the specs for my computer system to the left under my avatar.