Assigning Z values automatically

exclaymation

I am currently doing my thesis, and I am required to add z values to a large number of points near some polylines I drew. Each Z value has to be the distance to a specific polyline. There are hundreds of points and I have been doing it manually but it is way too slow. Is there a way to automatically assign the z values (being the distance to the polyline) by just clicking on the polyline and selecting the points? Or something remotely more efficient? Any help would be great.

Edit: I should mention, that what I am doing at the moment, is to use the measuring tool to measure the distance between the point and the line, then write it down. I then click on the point and type the distance value down.

It might stir someone's interest if you could post a drawing containing one such polyline and a few points. Saying it in words only does not convey the same image, and some of your terminology might be different :?

CAD.JPG Here is a picture. I am trying to assign the z values of those points to be the distance between the point and that black line in the middle. I kind of suck at autocad. Any help, and I mean any, would be dynamite.

I am afraid that your picture only serves to confuse me more. :? :?

What you are doing is quite beyond the experience of most people, and it needs to be explained even clearer, and that is why I suggested posting a drawing file, so that people can actually get their hands on a representive bit of your data.

I understand that the Z value is the third dimension, coming up out of the screen, so it would be helpful to know if you are actually working in three dimensions, or whether the picture is of a cross section. The UCS icon shows only X and Y. Your lines appear to be not horizontal. The point from where you are measuring is not overly clear, and is the length required to be perpendicular to the poylline, or the orthogonal distance?